Christmas Egg Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
There are plenty of recipes for oven omelets full of veggies and meat, but I was looking for a very simple protein dish so that the fresh fruit and cranberry scones I served wouldn't have to compete with a riot of flavors. This recipe was perfect. The only changes I made were to skip the melted butter and just grease the baking dish with a tablespoon of butter, and I reduced the remaining recipe by half for an 8" square baking dish. The Jack cheese is essential to the flavor. I made it once with mozzarella and found that it was a bit too bland; but either Jack or Swiss gives it a nice more-than-just-eggs kick. It makes a pretty dish and slices very neatly. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Followed recipe as written. It was awesome. Will make again. Family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
very good! I used shredded mozzarella in place of the monterey jack (all i had), and added some onion powder and garlic powder along with salt and pepper before baking. I also put some thawed and drained broccoli in the bottom before adding the egg mixture. Turned out great and i agree it is very adaptable! Even my 20 month old asked for seconds. very simple yet good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This recipe is easy, good and very adaptable. I added 1/2 t. of onion & garlic powder, 1/2 t. pepper, 1 t. salt for seasoning and added 2 sm. cans of chopped chilies and 4 C. cooked rice. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
If you like quiches, you should def. give this a try. Here, we've never had one so I decided to make it for dinner this Wednesday night. I changed the cheese cause I never have that type [[some sorta mozz./parm. mix]]. I also added bacon an spinach to go with the whole quiche theme. My madre ate it cold from the fridge an said it was pretty good, my padre ate it but he didn't care for it, my lil brother basically..threw a fit. Not the fault of the recipe, but he did not like the spinach then when I told him there were eggs he further freaked out. Ugg.....BUT what ultimately I decided to give were four stars as my other brother ate half of it =) All in all, THANK YOU for this easy, easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was what I have been looking for for years...literally! I tried the other casseroles on this site that received high ratings but they weren't at all like this. This was light and fluffy! My family kept raving about it and saying how tasty it was. I did add some chopped green onions and a can of crab. After it was done I topped it with sliced avocados. I am definitely going to make this again! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Nothing to write home about. It was good. Not great. Not terrible, just filled our stomachs xmas morning. Was looking for something less sweet, more protein, yet simple and special, but will go back to the baked french toast next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incurable

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was eggcellent! I followed the recipe and it turned out perfect. My husband ate it with homemade salsa and my toddlers ate it with salsa and without salsa. This is a keeper! Quick, Easy and Yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Loved it! This was simple and delicious.I made this Christmas morning and made only half the recipe.I only had 5 adults and 2 children to feed and thought half would be plenty...what a mistake.We were all practically fighting over the last piece! I will be using this recipe often, but will lighten it up by using reduced fat cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
A good, easy recipe, however it needs some seasonings. My family and guests enjoyed it as written, but next time I'm going to add some sauted onions, salt and pepper, and some hot sauce or jalapeno peppers or cayenne pepper. It needs a bit of a boost. I found the cheese didn't separate from the eggs as someone wrote, and I also found that cooking it for 30 minutes was fine in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States