Christmas Eclair Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was excellent. I decided to make this into a cake, since that seemed easier to me. I used a greased 9x13inch pan for the pastry, baked it at 400 for about 35 minutes, then put the filling on top. Because I was doing it this way, I used 8 oz softened cream cheese in place of the whipped cream and 3 cups of milk in the filling. This kept it thick enough to cut when it was time for serving. I didn't use the frosting part of the recipe. Instead I topped the filling with whipped topping and drizzled chocolate syrup over it when I served it. It was a hit!**************FOR THE REVIEWER WHO HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE PASTRY RISING: the ratio of egg to flour is basically the only thing in the pastry that will allow it to rise. The eggs keep the dough moist on the inside, while the crust bakes and develops on the outside, trapping gas inside. There are two possible causes for the dough not rising. First would be the eggs. When I've made eclairs using old/low quality eggs (you can tell by how spread the white becomes when you crack it) I've often had the same problem. Second, if adding the eggs while the dough is still hot, like this recipe says to, you run the risk of it not rising. Sometimes it works, others it doesn't. I recommend cooling the dough completely before adding the eggs one at a time. If you make sure the eggs are fresh and the dough is cool, you shouldn't have any problem with your eclairs rising.*********
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I made this recipe for a holiday party and it has been a request ever since! Last time, I made smaller/individual size eclairs by using a muffin tin and it worked perfectly! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is an awesome, tasty treat! I made 2 of these because the first one fell flat. Here's what I did to try to rectify that issue: I loaded the batter into a pastry bag, and piped it around the bowl; one round on top of the other until all the batter was piped out. I cut a 1 inch or so hole at the end of the disposable bag. Next time I will cut a larger hole, but nevertheless, it came out wonderful. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Very good. I had enough filling to make another one. The dough really didn't rise much so that make have be the reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was very yummy but very messy!! I didn't like the circle thing with the glass bowl in the middle. maybe next time I will try a 13 x 9 pan. I took this to my inlaws for dessert and although it was very tasty it didn't look the best. Would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vkitts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This sounded so wonderful. The pastry never did rise. I have tried to make it twice. I dont think I will be making it again, but if there are any secrets on how to make it perfect please post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I thought this was really yummy. The vanilla pudding with whipping cream was a dessert in itself! HEAVEN. I had never made any kind of dough before so the whole "rising" thing was new to me but I sitll got it right! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This recipe is absolutely the best!! My husband's favorite dessert are eclairs. I made this for his birthday cake and it was a hit! He said we'll definatley have to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKEHINZE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
OH SO YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
If you LOVE a Chocolate Eclair, you will LOVE this dessert! It was magnificent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catvibz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States