Christmas Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is just what I was looking for. Thank you for sharing. The kids just wanted to be able to decorate them, not wait 3 hours for sugar cookie dough to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good! We used vanilla instead of anise out of preference, and they were tasty. These cookies hold their shape very well, roll easily, and are easy to make. This is our new Christmas Cookie recipe. Thank you Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I tried this with my 3 yr old and it was great! everything worked out great! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
They where awsome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Guess people didn't read what they were making!! These are CUT OUT cookies NOT Sugar cookies. My family has made these for year at least 5 generations. I love them along with everyone else. I can't eat frosting so I am one of the few who eat them plain. But we usually frost and decorate most of them and everyone else eats them and loves them. Our recipe I think has a 1/2c sugar in it too though, so maybe for the one's who want a little more to it and 1/2c sugar too. But these are more like a tea biscuit, not sugar cookie, so do NOT expect sugar cookie. But my family makes these for every holiday (we have hundreds of cookie cutters) and for our birthdays every year my mom makes us these instead of cakes (of course no frosting on mine!!) YUM!! Great for dipping in coffee, tea or milk or hot coco if you do not frost them. (P.S. frost the flat back side for easier decorating and use the frosting mix of just milk and powder sugar add food coloring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Smethport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I had been looking for a recipe for anise cut-out cookies. I remember my grandmother making them at Christmas when I was little and they were so good. They were different from all the other cookies we had and grandma was the only one in the family to make them. I have her old cookie cutters but her recipe can't be found. I tried this recipe and found it to be very close to hers. The cookies were very good but I think I'll add a little more anise next time. I remember helping my grandmother put the colored sugar sprinkles on the cookies just before they went into the oven so many years ago. I'm 57 and grandma has been gone for 4 years now. Thanks for sharing your recipe and bringing back those wonderful memories of grandma's cut-out anise cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
the cookies are great we had made them into teddy bear shapes and iced onesies on them. they looked hilarious.any way it is great that you can make them into all kinds of shapes. also make kool designs on them. im out see yah:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
this is a great recipe! just what I was looking for. I just finished baking them, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I found the recipe very easy to make. The dough rolled nicely and the cookies baked perfectly. I changed the anise to vanilla and it was a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Excellent cookies...made them with my children and they had a blast. Only reason it's not 5 starts is because I had to use a lot more flour...but that could've been something I did wrong too:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daggett, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States