Christmas Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I absolutely loved this recipe and I am defiantly keeping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Great recipe, super easy, and love that i didn't have to watch over it. A few pointers to make it go smoother. When boiling, mix your cashews and rice cereal in a bowl and have it ready to go. Have all remaining ingredients on hand and ready to go, so you can add it quickly after it reaches 300. It does start to set quickly so be prepared and have your pans ready to go! Spread as thin as you can get it. Enjoy - It takes awhile, but watch carefully after it reaches 280 because it gets hot fast after that. I made 6 batches of this recipe and found it easier to work with double the recipe, once you get over that it takes to long to work it flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
My daughter loved it. I was expecting it to be as hard as it is but still very good and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I really liked the flavor but it seemed to have a lot more chex pieces than nuts (the reason for 4 stars instead of 5) so I will definitely add more nuts the next time I make it. I think it would be great with other types of nuts and also with pretzels, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I thought this recipe was a little hard on the teeth. I would suggest crushing the cashews up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was ok. It turned out very thick and hard. I think it needed some salt too. Sticks to your teeth--not a good gift for older people. Be prepared to wait a good 20 or so minutes for the mixture to heat to the 'hard ball stage'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Taste was good, but hard to chew ... I had trouble getting it spread thin enough, as it was setting up fast as I poured it in the pan ... if I'd gotten it thinner, it might have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Wow, what an easy, great-tasting recipe! I love that, once you get the mixture up to the boil, you can take a break and spare your arm the constant stirring. The only concern I had with this recipe is that, with the quantities stated, it doesn't even come close to filling the 10 x 15 pan, so it spreads out into a thin layer that's kinda too thin on the ends to use as viable pieces once it's broken. I tried a triple batch, too, but that was too much. I'm thinking that a double batch would do the trick. I see lots of possibilites for this recipe, though, with other add-ins. Thanks so much for sharing it with us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Okay..I WOULD have given this 5 stars but I made it TWICE and I couldn't get it to HARDEN!? It TASYES fabulous, but I must be doing SOMETHING wrong(?) The second time I thought that I didn't boil it long enough the first time, so I boiled it longer and it set a little, but didn't get like peanutbrittle or anything (which I think it's supposed to(?) Anyway, I am thinking my mistake is that I DON"T have a candy thermometer....however I am STILL gonna try it a 3rd time because it tastes WONDERFUL! (They say "Third's a charm")! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I tried this recipe, b/c it got such high ratings. However, it was the worst thing I've ever tasted. First of all, it took SO long to boil to 300 degrees - about 45 minutes. In fact, I made candied walnuts (which are also on this site and, by the way, are awesome!) while I was waiting for the temperature to sufficiently rise. Secondly, when they were done, they tasted stale and were so sticky on my teeth that I thought my fillings would be ripped out! Don't waste your time on this, no matter how many 5-star entries it has received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Georgia Sabovich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States