Christmas Creamy Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
This is a great recipe but if you are scared of the bacteria here is a simple solution. I did my research and found that the bacteria lives more in the yolk and is not as likely to live in the white. Wisk the yolks and the condensed milk over a very low heat stirring constantly till it reaches 140-160 degrees. You must have the liquid of the milk in with the yolks or it will coagulate and produce scrabmled eggs. Keep stirring occasionally till cooled and follow the rest of the recipe. It takes a little longer but is just as good. I have 2 small children and I am pregnant so it worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Not nearly as thick as it should be. I grew up drinking egg nog that was so thick and fluffy - yet creamy (mmm!) - that you really don't "drink" it. The difference is that you don't put milk in the thick kind at all. Instead, subsitute a pint of whipping cream (whipped), and fold it in with the yolks, rum, & sugar, then carefully fold in the egg whites. It's sooo much better! (Note: If you go with the modified recipe, you use 6 eggs and not just 4).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Wow - I had to make egg nog from scratch this year since I was overseas for Christmas. But this recipe was perfect! Everyone loved it and I'll definitely be making it again. I added a little extra rum and found that really enhanced up the flavour. The left-overs kept well in the fridge too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This is the best eggnog I ever tasted! It is great with or without alcohol. I also added a bit more sugar and rum. I think it is the sweetened condensed milk that makes this so good. I have tried other recipes in the past and this one by far outdoes them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This eggnog is pretty good. I'm still searching for the perfect eggnog but this is a good start. Here are some tips: - Use pasteurized-in-shell eggs. You can buy them by the dozen. They're found with the regular eggs. I use them when I make ice cream as well. - 5 oz of sweetened condensed milk is a little confusing. The store I was at sells 5 oz cans of evaporated milk, which may explain why some people complained the recipe was not sweet at all. Also, sweetened condensed milk is sold by weight, so a 14 oz can of it doesn't have anywhere near 14 oz of liquid. I took the recipe as calling for 5 oz liquid (more than half the can) and it still could use a little more sweetening. - When separating your eggs, remember the tiniest bit of yolk in your whites will keep them from getting stiff. This recipe is good enough to bring to my in-laws for the family gathering, but for that batch I'm going to throw in some heavy cream. It's still not quite rich enough. For my trial batch I did mix in a little cinnamon, and I think I'll also throw in some allspice into the next batch. All in all a good recipe. Flexible enough to play with and still end up with something drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
quick, easy, and tasty! i added about 2 additional tablespoons of sugar and a bit more vanilla, and i used 1% milk to keep it light and it worked very well. everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This was excellent! I made it the night before my morning cookie exchange and had the rum available on the side. Best not to make it too far ahead, though, as it "settles." Still tasted good, but it separated overnight and had to be remixed before serving. (Next time I'll make it in the morning)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This eggnog is tasty but it lacks the thickness usually associated with the beverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe is simple and does provide a good egg nog. It is sweet and if rum extract is used I can see it easily appealing to all ages as it more like a dessert. But for what I was looking for I needed to make a few modifications and then it became an excellent egg nog. I substituted half of the milk for whipping cream. Whipped the cream by hand the old fashion way. After adding half the milk the recipe called for I folded in the whipped cream and the stiffened egg whites. That gave it just the right thickness, texture, and consistency I wanted. Of course the ratio of whipping cream vs milk can be modified to one's preference. Additionally I doubled the dark rum and added a splash of Brandy for good measure. That did the trick. The one fluid ounce of rum the recipe called for just wasn't enough in my opinion. The end result was simply an amazing egg nog that was a big hit. This is a calorie and saturated fat bomb by the way, but if you are considering making egg nog I suspect you are like me and that not really a dissuading factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustAGoodOlBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This is the first time I have ever made eggnog from scratch. This recipe made it so simple and it was really great. I did add a lot more sugar and used coconut flavored rum. It was a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States