Christmas Creamy Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I gave this 4 stars because it's a great base for egg nog. I made the 1st batch per the instructions and on the 2nd batch made some mods that I thought made it better. The original seemed a little too thin and didn't have enough spice flavor with just the garnish, so I added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cinnamon to the yolk mixture. I also substituted 1/2 c of milk with half and half. This made it a little thicker. I added 1 tsp rum extract with the vanilla instead of using real rum in the end and I used pasturized eggs to avoid any bacteria issues. All in all, great recipe. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
The egg nog is kind of thin, I would recomend going with a 14 oz can of condensed milk. I couldn't even find a 5 oz can in the store anyways. Other than that it's a good recipe. Oh I looked on the FDA website, and if you buy eggs that are *PASTURIZED* (it will be marked on the carton), they have been treated for bacteria, and are ok to eat raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
What a hit, family and friends loved this recipe. Many have now got copies of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was PERFECT! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!! I WILL DEFINATELY MAKE THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Not bad! As for the eggs, it is safest if you use free range eggs (although I mainly use store bought),wash with anitbacterial soap and rinse under warm water. Many pregnant women eat raw eggs this way, especially in smoothies.Cooking them as suggested earlier is great too. We also don't like to drink alcohol so we also used the rum extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I don't really like egg nog but my husband said this recipe was really good. Had a hard time getting it away from my three year old. We substituted the rum for rum extract. Used a little less than a teaspoon of the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
The recipe is brilliant! and thanks to Shannonmarie's additional tip about cooking the yolks apart from the rest made it possible for all to enjoy! THIS IS NOT LIKE THE STORE BOUGHT! And I think that that is what makes it great! It's natural, and you can customise the recipe to you and your guests' taste! Thank you Sara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This was a fabulous last minute addition to my Thanksgiving dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Not well received by my family. Thin as milk and just not what we were looking for. Tried a thicker recipe from another site but still not ok. Will just go back store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I made this with the adivce of Shannonmarie, and mine did not turn out as thick as store bought. This was my first time making homemade eggnog and I would love to make it again if I knew how to obtain the "thickness" I'm looking for. The flavor was good and I love the idea of condensed milk. Thanks for sharing Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States