Christmas Creamy Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I make this every holiday and absolutely LOVE it! You will never do store bought Egg Nog again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Simply wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Pretty Darn good! I miss Fggnog so much. It isn't sold here in Ireland (or at least I haven't found it) and it was something my mother always got some (store bought) eggnog when I was growing up. This Recipe was tastey - I only had low fat milk - I think with full milk or maybe a bit of double cream or something it might make it a bit thicker. I enjoyed it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila McDonough

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I tripled the rum and STILL no one could taste it! That's not important, though, since I'll add more next time. What is important is that this is a FANTASTIC recipe! It was all gone quickly at my family's Christmas party. I'm going to make a triple batch tonight for Christmas this week. Yummy!! Thanksgiving 2010 update: I read reviews pertaining to the thickness of this recipe, but I don't like it super thick, so I tried halving the milk and adding 1 cup whipping cream (whipped). I made five batches and added a few extra eggs (I think I used 23 eggs total.) You do have to shake it vigorously before every serving, but it's worth it. So much better, which I didn't think was possible!! I also add nutmeg directly to the mix in addition to sprinkling it on each serving. My entire family raved about this, but they did add extra rum to each glass!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
It just tasted like unfrozen ice cream mix, nothing at all like egg nog...not even once you get past all the foam on top. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the first time I ever tasted, let alone made, eggnog. I loved it! Other first-timers and experienced eggnog drinkers liked it as well. Cruzan is my favorite brand of rum, and it seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
i follow the recipie with the exception of a couple sugestion from the review section by; 1, tempering the egg yoke/sewwtend condensed milk, 2, subing 1/2 cup of milk with 1/2 cup of half and half, and cutting the rest of the milk to 3 and 1/2 cups making a total of 4 cups insted of the recomended 4 and 1/2 cups of milk, 3, 1 whole nutmeg ground fresh instede of the 1/4tsp sugested (personal preference; nutmeg is what gives eggnog is unique flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheff_matt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was great! I used eggs that were pasteurized in the shell since I had a guest who was pregnant and some who were elderly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
My tastebuds weren't jumping for joy with this recipe. The flavor was quite good but the consistancy was off. The beaten egg whites made it frothy instead of creamy and it separates quickly. You end up drinking a thin flavorful liguid with a bunch of foam left in the glass when your finished. I'm still looking for a recipe that has a heavy cream in it and is a smooth, thick egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sommer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe, the best i could find yet! but at some points the egg will cook and solidify, giving a certain texture that most wouldn't appreciate. So if i could recommend, possibly straining out the cooked egg whites. It'll make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States