Christmas Creamy Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I had never made egg nog before, and this was the first recipe I stumbled upon -- it will also be the last, because I intend to keep making this year after year. My only alteration: I replace the rum with spiced rum, and I add more of it. But seriously, this is yummy as can be, and I made it several times last year, for different friends and family members, and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The most perfect egg nog I have ever made. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! This creamy egg-nog recipe will be a family favourite for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe is simple and does provide a good egg nog. It is sweet and if rum extract is used I can see it easily appealing to all ages as it more like a dessert. But for what I was looking for I needed to make a few modifications and then it became an excellent egg nog. I substituted half of the milk for whipping cream. Whipped the cream by hand the old fashion way. After adding half the milk the recipe called for I folded in the whipped cream and the stiffened egg whites. That gave it just the right thickness, texture, and consistency I wanted. Of course the ratio of whipping cream vs milk can be modified to one's preference. Additionally I doubled the dark rum and added a splash of Brandy for good measure. That did the trick. The one fluid ounce of rum the recipe called for just wasn't enough in my opinion. The end result was simply an amazing egg nog that was a big hit. This is a calorie and saturated fat bomb by the way, but if you are considering making egg nog I suspect you are like me and that not really a dissuading factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustAGoodOlBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
excellent. I've never had egg nog before and this was great. Wasn't as thick as my husband would like. Use the Bacardi Gold Rum. We used 4 oz instead of 1 as the recipe had indicated. Also used the organic free range brown eggs, which are richer than the regular white eggs. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This recipe is good but I found it needed more body; a little on the thin side. I added more beaten yolks to the mix until it had a nice light yellow color and was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this egg nog, have served it at several parties and all guests really like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
It is certainly a good recipe, though I myself am not a big eggnog fan. I do have to say, despite the tiny amount of alcohol in this, it is still probably not a good idea to consume this while pregnant, nursing, or to give it to small children. Try using a tsp of Rum Extract instead to get the flavor right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Loved it--made it twice and the whole family devoured it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward
Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good! What attracted me to this recipe is that it uses the egg yolks and the whites. (What would I do with 12 egg whites?) It seemed like it made a small batch (5 servings, and only 4 eggs), so I made a double batch. But my largest bowl wasn't big enough, so I stopped at 7 cups of milk instead of 9, which helped it stay a little thicker. I wouldn't have wanted to add any more milk. At first there was hardly any flavor to it, but then I realized I had forgotten to double the sugar and vanilla! As soon as I fixed it, the taste was perfect! It was still a little thinner than store-bought, but still very good. (I don't drink, so I skipped the rum.) So my advice is just use less milk -- or try whipped cream like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Falls, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States