Christmas Creamy Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent! Went with 4 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of cream (whipped and folded in with the egg-whites), and added a 5th egg. Also added a tablespoon of whiskey to go with the rum. Came out as creamy as the store-bought stuff. Was SUPERB after a night in the fridge. Will definitely be making again next year... Hell, I'll probably make it next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is the first time I tried to make my own egg nog. My professional chef sister-in-law usually makes it for Christmas when we go to her house. This year it was my turn. I chose this recipe and boy, am I glad I did! YUM! Super easy. Definitely make it again and again. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Vincent

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Found this recipe and made it last night for hubs at his request. He added more rum, but said he enjoyed it. I used the fake eggs that are already pasteurized. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
this was a very good drink it is NOT thick like the store baught egg nog but is still very tasty and much fresher tasting. I added cinnamon which made all the difference. Next time I will omit the rum, though it was only one once it was still strong. Overall good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Very bland and not creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Awesomely delicious -- I wouldn't change a thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obituary mambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
The people I served this to do not like egg nog but liked this version because it wasn't too thick. The recipe should say 1 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk. Adding cinnamon and clove is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I proofed the yolks and used some half & half that I had lying around. Holy sweet holiday thick goodness, Batman! Delicious! Oh and just rum flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
First time ever making egg nog and the day we drank it all, everyone requested it again. My only problem was I beat the egg whites until stiff and it made a thick froth on top which I had to remove. Next time I will not beat them as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States