Christmas Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I used fresh whipping cream. We loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe has very good flavor and makes a large amount. I would recommend using heavy whipping cream. I used regular whipping cream and it separated and got a little watery at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This has been popular with every guest I've ever served it to--frozen. We use half the marshmallows and toasted walnuts instead of pecans. One person said she served it chilled--that is why she didn't like it; it starts to run. Cool whip doesn't have the correct consistency and would be way too sweet. Make sure you whip the cream in a clean glass bowl until STIFF. Do not let it melt after this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I thought this was delicious! I did take some of the suggestions in previous reviews to "tweak" this recipe just a tad. I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2cups, I added a tsp of vanilla to the whipping cream, and only used half of the marshmallows. I also put the cranberries and pineapple in a sieve and left it to sit for a while to get any excess juice out. I ended up with a great salad that was not at all "runny". I have already recommended this recipe to several people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Easy and great tasting. Made this for a Christmas dinner and even those that didn't like cranberries liked this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out fantastic! I didn't make any changes and I made the whipped cream using a simple recipe also found on this site!)Thanks so much for the recipe Carrie. This dish will be a new holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Thank you for this recipe. Seven years ago, a sweet lady gave this same recipe to me to try for Thanksgiving. My family loved it, and we decided to make it a holiday tradition. A couple of years later during a move, I lost the recipe and the lady that gave it to me had passed away. When I found this, I thought it was probably the same so we tried it yesterday for Thanksgiving. It was perfect,just the way we remembered! Thanks again for helping to restore our holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I too do not see what all the rave is about with this recipe. I made it for Christmas and was very disappointed. There was barely a dent in it after 15 guests served themselves. I followed the recipe for 7 servings and it made enough for an army. I served it chilled instead of frozen and found it to separate and get runny quickly. The flavor was quite dull and overall I found the dish to be somewhat tacky. I definitely will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I found that this made a lot more than 7 servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I don't see what all the rave is about. And neither did my family (adults and kids!). I followed the recipe exactly and was disappointed by the results. Will definitely not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States