Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Hands-down best Christmas cookie of the year! The flavor is just perfect and tasty - although explaining that it's just like a Rice Krispie treat without the Rice Krispies is a challenge. It's delicious, gooey, and addictive. The green color is nice and dark (not washed out like the photo above). These cookies looke VERY FESTIVE! NOTE TO THOSE MAKING FOR THE FIRST TIME: I got scared half way through nuking the marshmallows, seeing that all of them haddisappeared leaving nothing but butter in the bowl. Relax, it still turns out beautifully and marshmallowy. I might leave off the cinnamon candies (they're enough to break a tooth on!). But otherwise I'll be making these every year from now on. A+++++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Schumm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe!! I cut the extracts to 1/4tsp each, and they weren't so over powering. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very good! The recipe only made about 15 wreaths (about a medium sized cookie) so I ended up doubling it. Also, my husband and I aren't that fond of red hots, so I substituted them for some bits of maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Yummy!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I chose to use Frosted Flakes and left out the vanilla and almond flavorings. I also used M&Ms instead of red hots. These tasted better than Rice Krispie Treats! I personally really liked the Frosted Flakes and don't think they were too sweet or hard. We made one wreath and a bunch of Christmas trees. They're so cute with the M&M ornaments! I will make these every year, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These taste great! DO NOT leave out the almond extract. It makes these phenomenal. I get asked for this recipe every time I bring them some where. I did substitute the cornflakes with Frosted Flakes because I bought the wrong kind. It was too sweet and the Frosted Flakes are too hard. Don't try to substitute. I never add the red hots because the cookies are just too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love the taste of these cookies but something just was not right. First, I should have added more food coloring as the wreaths came out very pastel green. They also did not harden up very well and I noticed taht the last cup of conrflakes may have been a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I remember eating these as a kid. We formed them into wreath shapes instead of mounds, but it all tastes the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My Mom made these for Christmas this year -- she shaped hers into holly leaves with 2 cinnamons as berries. A colorful addition to your Christmas cookie platter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Boyfriend had to have, so I made these with my daughters. We had fun trying to get it all stirred, formed, and candied before it set. Boyfriend loved them. Only problem I experienced was that even though I greased the wax paper, the wreathes still stuck to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States