Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Thank you for reminding me of one of my favorite holiday treats. I was so excited to be able to share this recipe with my 6-year old daughter this Christmas. I lined my baking sheets with wax paper and sprayed them with cooking spray and had no issues with them sticking. I used a 16oz bag of large marshmallows that and found that I did have to add about an extra cup of cornflakes to reach the correct texture. I handled the hot mixture and my daughter went behind me and added red M&M's instead of red hots - she doesn't like the red hots. We both loved them and look forward to making them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Loved these! Grease up your fingers with a little margarine before trying to form the wreaths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
The almond extract was a little strong but husband and daughter loved these. I will probably use less almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
this is easy and great! i ditch the coloring because i'm making it for Chinese New Year and almond essence as suggested by other reviewers. i had to make another batch 3 days before Chinese New Year and seal them with tapes so that my sister won't finish the second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate chip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This has always been a family tradition, and now I am making them for my son. My mom always added a couple of tablespoons of peanut butter and never used the extracts. They are just so yummy and fun! They are always a hit wherever I take them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I love this easy and fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Yummy, sticky and tough to shape into wreaths, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I love these! Well worth the stickiness and the mess I remember as a kid. They not only are festive but taste really good! I left out the almond extract and used 1 whole teaspoon of vanilla extract instead. I also used a whole tube of the green food coloring gel and they still weren't as green as I'd have liked, but they still came out really cute. I'll be making these again every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figs5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Always a winner. I had to make and bring 6 dozen to a party. To save time I used an ice cream scooper to make round balls and called them holly bushes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These were the cookies my childhood friends mother used to make! Surprisingly yummy! I was not talented enough to make mine into little wreath shapes (they're too hot when you're handling them), but they're still cute and taste really good. Fun to see/have something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States