Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Very, very good! I drop spoonfuls on waxed paper rather than making wreaths. It is easier and looks like Holly instead of wreaths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This recipe was fun, easy, and very YUMMY! It took me less then 20 minutes from start to finish. I will make this again. Very festive and alot of Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This recipe is very similar to one I grew up with but we call them Holly Cookies -- we just don't add the extracts. Some advice for the cooks with difficulties. If the cookies are too sticky, the butter and marshmallow were not cooked long enough. I prefer to cook these on the stove (without a double boiler) for more control. The trick to getting the red hots to stick is to work with another person to place them IMMEDIATELY. At my house, Holly Cookies are a "team event". While one person spoons out the cookies (and tries not to burn fingers :-) ) the other person follows right behind with the red hots -- good kid job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Didn't like the almond extract in the mix. The red hots didn't want to stick to the flakes. Looked very festive, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Just like the ones my mom made when I was little!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Once people got over their fear of green food, they dissappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
They tasted good, but too much food coloring turned mouths green and they were a little sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
These are really cute, but that seems to be the extent of their charm. I found them difficult to shape, the never really "solidified" to make them easy to eat, and they were generally pretty "blah". Very cute though - they look great on a cookie collection plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFECOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
When the Rice Krispy squares recipe first came out, my mom did a Cornflake Wreath. We didn't use the almond or vanilla extracts. In fact, all we did was substitute Cornflakes for Rice Krispys, add green food coloring, and add red hots right after forming the wreath. We also used to make one wreath on a paper plate, and give it to neighbors. That was a lot of fun. For a simpler recipe, try melting the butter & marshmallows in the microwave. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These cookies have a decent flavor to them, but they are incredibly sticky. May need to cut down on the marshmallows and butter. Otherwise, they're extremely simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States