Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This recipe is very similar to one I grew up with but we call them Holly Cookies -- we just don't add the extracts. Some advice for the cooks with difficulties. If the cookies are too sticky, the butter and marshmallow were not cooked long enough. I prefer to cook these on the stove (without a double boiler) for more control. The trick to getting the red hots to stick is to work with another person to place them IMMEDIATELY. At my house, Holly Cookies are a "team event". While one person spoons out the cookies (and tries not to burn fingers :-) ) the other person follows right behind with the red hots -- good kid job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This recipe is a great. I made a few adjustments. I buttered a big bowl, added the cornflakes then poured the warm mixture over stirring with a buttered spoon. You have to work fast once you pour the marshmallow over the cornflakes or as it cools, things become more little sticky (what does one expect working with a marshmallow recipe right?). I used real butter, made little blobs instead of wreaths with a buttered tablespoon for faster assembly, omitted the almond extract(don't like) and melted via double boiler for better control (personal preference), and then refrigerated them for faster setting. It is really a fast and fun holiday treat that gets raves in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
These were good cookies but the almond extract took over the entire cookie. I would make these again, but next time I would leave the almond extract out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Instead of making individual cookies with this recipe, my grandma made one great big Christmas wreath on a pretty platter and we cut slices from it like a bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I chose to use Frosted Flakes and left out the vanilla and almond flavorings. I also used M&Ms instead of red hots. These tasted better than Rice Krispie Treats! I personally really liked the Frosted Flakes and don't think they were too sweet or hard. We made one wreath and a bunch of Christmas trees. They're so cute with the M&M ornaments! I will make these every year, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
When the Rice Krispy squares recipe first came out, my mom did a Cornflake Wreath. We didn't use the almond or vanilla extracts. In fact, all we did was substitute Cornflakes for Rice Krispys, add green food coloring, and add red hots right after forming the wreath. We also used to make one wreath on a paper plate, and give it to neighbors. That was a lot of fun. For a simpler recipe, try melting the butter & marshmallows in the microwave. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Like the recipe I've used for more than 40 years, this recipe calls for almond extract as well as the vanilla, which I like. What's different about this recipe from mine is that it uses a tad more butter and marshmallows, which I thought might make this a little easier to mix with and coat the cornflakes but I learned the difference is negligible. Maybe I do it the hard way, but I neither microwave this nor use a double boiler. I just melt the marshmallows in a big non-stick Dutch oven over medium-low heat, which makes clean-up incredibly easy. Work fast and get yourself another set of hands to put the red hots on if you can because this sets up very quickly! Pretty and gooey and sweet, these have always been a favorite with both kids and adults alike. In fact, they are still one of my kids' favorites - and they're now 28 and 30 years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
Everyone at my office gobbled these up!!! I've had to start making them for other holidays... you can use any color of food coloring, and cookie cutters are an easy way to shape them... just butter the open-topped cutters and drop spoonfuls of the mixture into them. Press it around in the cookie cutter & pull the cutter off. It worked great for valentine's day hearts... but make sure to use enough red dye, or they'll look salmon-colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is exactly how my mom always made them! Can't improve on perfection! I always laugh at people's reactions to green cornflakes, but yum. Messy to make though. We usually spray our hands with cooking spray and set them out on wax paper to reduce the stick factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These taste great! DO NOT leave out the almond extract. It makes these phenomenal. I get asked for this recipe every time I bring them some where. I did substitute the cornflakes with Frosted Flakes because I bought the wrong kind. It was too sweet and the Frosted Flakes are too hard. Don't try to substitute. I never add the red hots because the cookies are just too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States