Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
sticky mess but taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
A true classic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcchickadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Wet your fingertips (instead of greased) to help mold them into the desired shape. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I hate to be the 'downer' on these, but I'm very dissapointed! It's probably my cookings skills but these didn't turn out at ALL! The were so sticky they stuck to the wax paper and could not be transported onto my pretty christmas platter. Even after they cooled, I thought they would harden A LITTLE more but I was very wrong! I'm so sorry to rate these bad, but I don't want someone making cookies for an event at the last minute (like me) and have to end up throwing them all away. So you might want to try them ahead of time to make sure they are what you want! Merry Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Like the recipe I've used for more than 40 years, this recipe calls for almond extract as well as the vanilla, which I like. What's different about this recipe from mine is that it uses a tad more butter and marshmallows, which I thought might make this a little easier to mix with and coat the cornflakes but I learned the difference is negligible. Maybe I do it the hard way, but I neither microwave this nor use a double boiler. I just melt the marshmallows in a big non-stick Dutch oven over medium-low heat, which makes clean-up incredibly easy. Work fast and get yourself another set of hands to put the red hots on if you can because this sets up very quickly! Pretty and gooey and sweet, these have always been a favorite with both kids and adults alike. In fact, they are still one of my kids' favorites - and they're now 28 and 30 years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I remember these from when I was a child. My grandma would make these every Christmas. This is the first time I made these in a very long time. I only had the large marshmallows, not the minis but they work the same, just make sure you have enough they do measure differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is exactly how my mom always made them! Can't improve on perfection! I always laugh at people's reactions to green cornflakes, but yum. Messy to make though. We usually spray our hands with cooking spray and set them out on wax paper to reduce the stick factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is my favorite Christmas recipe. You can substitute 36-40 large marshmallows for the small ones if you want. For all of you who don't like the almond or vanilla extract, get rid of both and substitute a teaspoon of lemon extract. This is the way my mom made them when I was a kid. The lemon extract is subtle and not at all overpowering. I like the idea of red M&M's instead of the red hots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Everyone loved these.... I used red M&M'S instead of red hots... Not to big on cinnamon candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Tastes pretty much just like a rice crispy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States