Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Hands-down best Christmas cookie of the year! The flavor is just perfect and tasty - although explaining that it's just like a Rice Krispie treat without the Rice Krispies is a challenge. It's delicious, gooey, and addictive. The green color is nice and dark (not washed out like the photo above). These cookies looke VERY FESTIVE! NOTE TO THOSE MAKING FOR THE FIRST TIME: I got scared half way through nuking the marshmallows, seeing that all of them haddisappeared leaving nothing but butter in the bowl. Relax, it still turns out beautifully and marshmallowy. I might leave off the cinnamon candies (they're enough to break a tooth on!). But otherwise I'll be making these every year from now on. A+++++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Schumm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe!! I cut the extracts to 1/4tsp each, and they weren't so over powering. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very good! The recipe only made about 15 wreaths (about a medium sized cookie) so I ended up doubling it. Also, my husband and I aren't that fond of red hots, so I substituted them for some bits of maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Yummy!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I chose to use Frosted Flakes and left out the vanilla and almond flavorings. I also used M&Ms instead of red hots. These tasted better than Rice Krispie Treats! I personally really liked the Frosted Flakes and don't think they were too sweet or hard. We made one wreath and a bunch of Christmas trees. They're so cute with the M&M ornaments! I will make these every year, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These taste great! DO NOT leave out the almond extract. It makes these phenomenal. I get asked for this recipe every time I bring them some where. I did substitute the cornflakes with Frosted Flakes because I bought the wrong kind. It was too sweet and the Frosted Flakes are too hard. Don't try to substitute. I never add the red hots because the cookies are just too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love the taste of these cookies but something just was not right. First, I should have added more food coloring as the wreaths came out very pastel green. They also did not harden up very well and I noticed taht the last cup of conrflakes may have been a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I remember eating these as a kid. We formed them into wreath shapes instead of mounds, but it all tastes the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My Mom made these for Christmas this year -- she shaped hers into holly leaves with 2 cinnamons as berries. A colorful addition to your Christmas cookie platter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Boyfriend had to have, so I made these with my daughters. We had fun trying to get it all stirred, formed, and candied before it set. Boyfriend loved them. Only problem I experienced was that even though I greased the wax paper, the wreathes still stuck to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States