Christmas Cheese Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
7, yes SEVEN different supermarkets and bakery sections, and there are NO, ZERO. "ladyfingers" in 3oz packages, or otherwise, to be found. Good luck finding them in the United States of America. One store manager started laughing. What a disappointing, frustrating holiday hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Generic. Still looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carber1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I loved it and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this dessert for Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit. I used a 9 inch spring form pan and it worked perfectly. I found lady fingers in the bakery department at Walmart and Safeway. Both places said they carry them year round, which is perfect as I will be making this regularly. For the people that said they had to cook it for 90 minutes, you needed to take it out at 55-60 minutes. The center will seem uncooked but it will set up after you remove it from the oven (in 30-60 minutes). I loved loved this recipe and will put it on my favorites list! Definitely not just for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Outstanding! Increase your lady fingers to two 3 oz. packages, or use vanilla wafers for the bottom crust. Everything else was perfect. Easy to make, but be sure to keep an eye on it when you get to 50 minutes. Mine firmed up at about the 55 minute mark. Enjoy; my family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2dachs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
So decadent! Not just for Christmas. I've made it three times now for special occasions because my family keeps asking for it. Instead of Lady Fingers for the crust, I used Keebler Graham Cracker Crumbs mixed with a stick of melted butter and two tbsp of sugar. I set my spring form pan in a shallow pan of water to bake. Topped with a chilled can of cherry pie filling in winter but in the spring topped with fresh strawberry topping: 1 qt fresh strawberries washed and hulled. Puree half of the berries in food processer with one cup sugar then stir in the other half and chill. This is a keeper. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
DO NOT MAKE THIS!! IT WAS A DISASTER!! THE LADYFINGERS BURNT ON THE BOTTOM AND BURNT EVEN WITH THE FOIL ON AND IT TOOK 90 MINS TO BAKE. IT ALSO DID NOT NEED AS MUCH SOUR CREAM AS IT CALLED FOR. JUST MAKE A GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST AND FOLLOW THE PHILADELPHIA CREAM CHEESE RECIPE ON THE WEBSITE. NO STARS FOR THIS ONE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The cooking time was about 90 minutes at the temperature of 375 degrees. The ladyfingers were too hard and dry by the time the cake was finished. The cheese cake ingredients however were perfect. Everybody loved it. If the cooking time and pan size are adjusted, this recipe would be perfect. Three Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The recipe for this cheesecake turned out great. My son and I could not find Ladyfingers at the local store so we substituted giant soft chocolate fudge cookies which turned out very good. Other than that we used everything else in the recipe exactly the same. Will definately do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOMMYIM
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was great - very high, light and fluffy for a cheesecake. It also looks so pretty. You need 2 packages of the 3oz lady fingers rather than one but other than that, no changes. Maybe it was because I made it at Christmas time, but all of the grocery stores had lady fingers in the bakery section, so I had no problem finding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States