Christmas Casserole Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Peggy, thank you for posting this recipe. I've been looking for it for years. Folks this is a wonderful holiday cookie. I top mine off with half a candied cherry to make them look festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I made this recipe late last night, expecting to write a negative review today, but when I woke up, I found a note from my husband on the cookie plate - "Best Cookie in the World." I have to admit that they taste pretty good. My only complaint is that it's a mess to work with( I had to spray Pam on my hands to keep the dough from sticking) and it only makes barely 3 dozen. I don't see how she got 5 dozen! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Terrific Old Fashion Recipie! Ok...first I want to say that the last person who left a review for this said they barely got 3 doz out of it and that it was messy...I am wondering if you maybe covered it while it was cooking?...leaving it to sticky. Also how big of balls did you make? I made balls the size of large marbles and I got around 6 dozen...also my dough was not messy at all...I had to press it to make it stick together into balls (once pressed they stayed formed very well...not crumbly at all) Anyway...I just made these and they are very good and very christmasy :) I must say though, that when I took the "dough" out of the oven I was suprised at the consistancy. It was a dry "casserole" (looked like dressing) that I wasn't expecting. Better words could be used in the directions to save confusion. (the directions say to beat well with a wooden spoon...it should say to break up or loosen) I almost discarded it but I took my wooden spoon and "beat" it as best I could. (I just stired and got it all loosened and broken up) As long as you aren't thinking of typical cookie dough you'll be ok. After the mixture cooled I pressed the dough into balls and rolled them in sugar assembly line style. It was very easy but a bit time consuming...they are good though...and very Grandma-ish :) thanks for sharing Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I usually don't goof, but I still give this a 5* because it was my fault. Be careful. It calls for 1 1/4 cup sugar, but you are to use only 1 cup in the batter. It made them a tad bit sweet, so I added some coco powder and it reduced the sweetness a bit. I put the batter in a 9" brownie pan and that was fine. Yes, they do get a bit sticky, but I just put some sugar in my palm, and rolled away. It makes a large quantity and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I found these very messy to work with and I also had to spray Pam on my hands to roll them into balls.Although, after the work, it is well worth it as these cookies are Deee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These are great! They remind me of Christmas at my grandparents house. I didn't like them as a kid, but wow, they are really great now! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
So easy and so good! These are almost like date logs but less dense. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is the easiest cookie mix awesomely delicous and cooling was a little long but made a triple batch and they went fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAMAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
really good! a little time consuming though..but worth it. i wouldn't advise rolling them in sugar though...they are already sweet enough! great recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. My Mom made these for us when we were little, so they definitely are an old fashioned Christmas cookie. Mom always made them into little logs instead of the balls, but they are really wonderful cookies, no matter what shape you form them into. Thanks very much Peggy for posting this recipe. They will be on my cookie tray this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States