Christmas Casserole Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I got this recipe more than 30 years ago from a Christmas cookie exchange party in Denver. It has become a tradition in my family to make them at Christmas. My recipe says to take the casserole out of the oven every 10 minutes and scrape the sides with a fork to keep the coconut from getting burned on the edges. (The problem is that it tastes so good that I have to eat a forkful each time I stir. Yummy!!) I usually let it cool overnight, and roll them into small balls the next day. You can freeze them after you roll them into balls. I then roll them in powdered sugar, not granulated. They are best just big enough to pop in your mouth, not bite. (powdered sugar can be a little messy to eat.) Everyone loves these. My daughter-in-law made them with dried cherries when she didn't have dates. Yes these are messy to make....but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I would make these again. They're pretty good for the little effort required. Dough was crusty on the outside and gooey on the inside when it came out of the oven, but it all stirred together to form a sort of crumbly mixture. It is certainly easier to roll into balls if you wait until the dough is completely cool. I had a sticky mess when I started too soon and found it much easier when I followed the directions and waited for it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Honestly I expected to hate these due to the coconut but my husband likes it and I had all these odd ingredients left over after cleaning my cupboards out. They turned out really well and we ended up fighting over who got the last cookie. I used sweetened angel flake coconut, candied cherries, candied ginger, walnuts and after the mixture had cooled down I also added chocolate chips. They were sticky to roll so I ended up using parchment paper to roll the mixture into a log and then sliced off equal portions which didn't require quite as much handling. Next time I will skip rolling them in sugar as they are pretty sweet already. I will definitely make them again as the whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. My Mom made these for us when we were little, so they definitely are an old fashioned Christmas cookie. Mom always made them into little logs instead of the balls, but they are really wonderful cookies, no matter what shape you form them into. Thanks very much Peggy for posting this recipe. They will be on my cookie tray this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
really good! a little time consuming though..but worth it. i wouldn't advise rolling them in sugar though...they are already sweet enough! great recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is the easiest cookie mix awesomely delicous and cooling was a little long but made a triple batch and they went fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAMAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
So easy and so good! These are almost like date logs but less dense. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These are great! They remind me of Christmas at my grandparents house. I didn't like them as a kid, but wow, they are really great now! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I found these very messy to work with and I also had to spray Pam on my hands to roll them into balls.Although, after the work, it is well worth it as these cookies are Deee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I usually don't goof, but I still give this a 5* because it was my fault. Be careful. It calls for 1 1/4 cup sugar, but you are to use only 1 cup in the batter. It made them a tad bit sweet, so I added some coco powder and it reduced the sweetness a bit. I put the batter in a 9" brownie pan and that was fine. Yes, they do get a bit sticky, but I just put some sugar in my palm, and rolled away. It makes a large quantity and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States