Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I must have done something wrong. The butter/egg mixture curdled. I had to add a LOT more flour than called for otherwise it was just a liquidy gooey mess (but with all that fruit and brandy in it, I wasn't going to give up!) It tasted okay, but was quite dry. I also used two loaf pans instead of one larger pan. WHAT did I do wrong???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The best recipe yet for Christmas Cake, it has become very popular at work, everyone wants some when it is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is an incredible Christmas cake recipe. I made the cake this past November(2011). The only thing I added. After the cake had cooled, I poked holes down through the top with a chopstick & spooned brandy over the top so it ran into the holes. A week later I dribbled more brandy into the holes & then again after another week. I'm British so I know good fruit cake. Even though we usually make our fruit cakes months ahead of Christmas, this cake was excellent in just a couple of weeks. Thanks Carol for sharing this recipe. I thought my regular recipe was unbeatable but believe me when I say that your recipe will be the only one I will be using from now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made fruitcake for the first time in November; this was one of two recipes I worked from and is the one I'll return to next time. I did make some changes. I used dried cherries and fresh orange peel instead of candied, and I sprinkled the cake with brandy before wrapping it. Cake was a little on the gooey side; maybe I should have baked it a little longer, or maybe cut back on the apple juice to compensate for the added brandy? But I was very happy with the result anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Borgart
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
The BEST. I've been making it for 4 years now. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willemstad, Curaçao, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
An excellent cake. I use 2x loaf pans vice a 8x8x3 inch pan and they work out great with roughly the same amount of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We are English so icing and marzipan were a must on this deliciously moist cake. I started making it at the beginning of December and soaked the fruit in brandy for two days. I was unable to get currants so added more raisins. Three hours in the oven and it was cooked to perfection. I stored it for a couple of weeks then covered it with almond paste and icing. A ribbon around the edge, a santa, angel and christmas tree made it look seasonal. Thank you Carol; this is my first go at making a Christmas cake (should not admit that, but it is) and I felt like Chef Ramsey when my husband said "This is so scrumptious, can I have another piece?."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is THE best Christmas cake ever! I grew up in the UK and have had many Xmas cakes and loved this the most. I made it a month before serving which is short but it still turned out flavourful. I cooled the cake and then poked holes with a skewer and poured 1/4C of brandy before wrapping up and storing in a cool place. I repeated the process twice more. I then put marzipan icing, let dry and topped off with fondant icing and decorations. I was iffy about how it would be received by Americans since I think English Christmas cakes are an acquired taste but EVERYBODY loved this cake! So it's really worth the effort. I'm going to make mine in Sept. next year and I'm also going to make one for my Irish mum for her to keep till Christmas! It's moist, dark, spicey, and really full of flavour! Very best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
made this cake in the last week of October, and have waited patiently to taste it! It's great, although next year I'll put in a smaller amount of cherries...but that is a personal taste thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is the recipe I have been looking for! It is the best Christmas cake ever; very moist dark and rich looking. We couldn't resist taste testing it as I was basting it with brandy & the family loved it; hopefully there will be some left for Christmas. It will definitely become our traditional Christmas/wedding cake. As suggested by someone, I substituted demera sugar for the brown sugar and loved it. I did use a slightly larger cake pan and found it cooked in the given time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States