Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Update: I've made this recipe over 3 Christmas now. I've halved the flour quantity in order to have a more fruity cake. Will keep this one going. Yummy!As my partner is not a fan of the glazed cherries I used dried cherries (pretty expensive, but worth it!)and it tastes lovely.I'm pouring 2tbsp of Brandy on each cake every 2 weeks.I don't think it needs any icing either as it's delicious as it is.Hope it lasts till xmas.Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this recipe about 6 weeks before christmas and then resisted eating it until then. This is truly the best Christmas cake ever! It is really rich and moist. It did make a lot and I had to put it in a 26cm or 10inch square tin which fit perfectly. We thought we would never get through it it was so huge but it was gone within a week or so. It was so delicious. As my husband is allergic to almonds I substituted brazil nuts which worked just as well. I let the cake cool in the tin with a teatowel over the top to keep the moisture in then when it was cool I basted it in brandy and wrapped up in greaseproof paper and tin foil. Also for all you Aussies, after hunting around shops looking for Molasses with no luck I did some research on the net and found out that what they call molasses in the US is what we call treacle over here - if they ask for blackstrap molasses then that is what we call molasses. Hope that helps when you find it hard to find molasses on the shelf in Aus. Will definately be making it again this year (and also planning on making smaller ones for gifts keeping the big for myself of course)- can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This cake is Wonderful! I have some friends who don't like fruit-cake but they liked this One. Thanks, Cheryl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Fantastic cake! I also got 2 cakes. I sprinkled more brandy on the baked cakes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Awesome. With a chef for a partner it can be a little hard to impress. But, "great cake babe" summed it up. Thanks Carol, followed your recipe to the letter. Did have a little mixture left but they made yummy muffin style "mini chrissy cakes" for "play lunch"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Really yummy cake, moist and packed densly with fruit. As previously mentioned, I also did get more than 1 cake with this recipe, however, it might be because i used a 8 X 8 X 2 inch pan rather than a 3 inch one. At least I got to taste it before it is served during christmas. Would have prefered a stronger brandied flavour, so I will moisten it with more brandy before christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMMOBUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe turned out beautifully, EXCEPT that it made double the cakes it said (which is why I've given 4 stars instead of 5). I'm not sure why no one else has mentioned this, but I ended up with 2 8" cakes, not 1. I was pouring and the batter was spilling over the top of the pan and I still had tonnes left, so had to stop, scoop out some batter and start filling a new pan. Anyway, because of the "bonus" cake, I was able to taste-test this morning, and it does taste divine. I'm going to be marinating with a variety of liquors every few days until Christmas, so I'll be able to taste the difference over the weeks, and know just how good the cake I'm giving to my sister will be. Not sure why I'm the only one to end up with 2 cakes, but I hope you've got an extra cake pan around in case this happens to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella J.
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
After converting this recipe to metric I then poured the dry ingridents into Australian measuring cups. My husband helped, so we had two people ensuring the QA process, though if it goes wrong, blame the chef, not the recipe!! or me!! 2 1/2 cups glace cherries - not chopped 1 1/2 cups mixed citrus peel 2 cups raisins 1 cup currants ** 1 1/4 cup sultanas (substitution for dates) 1 1/4 cup slivered almonds 120 ml brandy - I use whisky instead 1/2 cup flour for the dredging 2 cups flour for the batter 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (same as baking soda) 1/2 teaspoon cloves - I sub with ginger 1/2 teaspoon all spice - I add 1 teaspoon 1/2 teaspoon cinamon - I add one teaspoon 1/2 teaspoon of salt 250g butter, as I could not be bothered leaving behind the 25 grams - your choice. 3 cups brown sugar 6 eggs 180ml treacle - couldn't find molasses 180ml apple juice - little tetra packs handy size to buy. Pleased double check ingredients against original recipe and for the spices please use your taste buds as some may require more. As there is heaps of batter use non stick baking paper to extend above the side of the tins, go at least 5cm as it does raise pretty high. Also from my experience it took about 3.5 hours in a fan forced oven. I based this on a 20cm round pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I made this cake a couple weeks ago, I won't be trying it till xmas so I will update my review then. I left out the cinnamon and cloves and just used the allspice/mixed spice, my house smelt of mollases/treacle for days!!due to the 3/4 cup of it that went in, I have a funny feeling this will be way too strong a flavour and smell for me as all of the other recipes I have seen only call for a couple tablespoons of mollases!! but, I will let you know, I will obviously marzipan(almond paste/icing) and ice/frost the cake and decorate it, couple weeks before exmas I will skewer the cake in several places and poor over brandy and whisky (more for the flavour and kick rather than moistness) as I think this may be a moist cake anyway. I will report back after exmas or just after the first few comments on the cake. Hope it's good, it took 3hrs 35 mins to cook. UPDATE, after 2.5 weeks I took it out of the air tight container and unwraped it from the double layer of tin foil and layer of greaseproof and it smells gorgeous, no more mollases smell just a lovely traditional english christmas cake smell, almost like christmas pudding!! I skewered 5o times and poured over a tbls of each whisky and brandy.Update: Very moist but may add double the mixed spice next year. NOTE: this is for an 8" square cake if you use a round pan you must use a 9" one!! an 8" round fits exactly onto an 8" square one, so, you must allow for the corners (thats why a 9" round is needed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This recipe is awesome! The first year I've used it, I got several compliments from family and friends. The second year, I gave cakes away as gifts. Now people wait for it every Christmas. I have my great aunts - who are great cooks and bakers themselves and who are very critical about other people's cooking who actually want this recipe for themselves. Thank you for having shared it. I never thought making fruitcakes could be so fun and rewarding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States