Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
like delicius,thanx. yemekyapye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yemekyapye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
delicious... made it last night. there is definetly enough for more than one. my only mistake was not to use partchment paper because I didnt have any. Im new at the whole baking thing but it turn out perfect....Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Now made this cake 5 times and the results have been very good. And I'm a novice cake-maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gorseinonboy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Limoges, Limousin, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
LOVE this cake! I suggest only a couple of modifications, but if you can't make the changes, make this cake anyway because it is a real crowd pleaser. First, use Demerara sugar instead of brown sugar if you can. It's usually found in regular grocery stores, next to the other sugars, and it doesn't cost much more. It's is a light brown sugar that provides a stickier texture and a really rich aroma-- perfect for this cake. Second, marinate the candied fruit in the brandy for as long as you can. You really want the fruit to be plump. Third, follow the directions for a long baking time in low heat. Don't try to speed things up by increasing the temperature (like I once did...)! Fourth, top with Royal Icing-- there are some very good recipes for it on this website. Royal Icing is a bit tricky to work with, but it's worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I substituted a number of things - marg for the butter, powdered egg replacer for the 6 eggs, soy & rice flour for the wheat. I decided there was too much cloves so cut that down to 1/4 tsp, and doubled the cinnamon to 2 heaping teaspoons. I mixed 1/2 cup dark rum and 1/2 cup brandy and poured that over the fruit and let marinade for over 24 hours. I also substituted 1/2 cup orange juice with 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice instead of the apple juice. I divided the recipe between two Teflon bunt pans. Convection baked at 275° for 2 1/4 hrs. Then I poured 1 cup of mixed rum & brandy over the cakes when cool. Was delicious! Falls apart with the flour substitute but sure tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This recipe is excellent! I made this cake for a christmas present to my parents who are extremely hard to please food critics and they absolutely loved it, mum is usually very critical of everyones xmas cakes but this got the thumbs up! I did replace the raisins and currants with dried figs, peaches, pears and some glace ginger ...which made for a not so traditional but excellent, rich and exotic cake, really moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Did not rise properly, stayed raw in the middle maybe my mistake?? Help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Everyone loved this. My only change: soaked the fruit in rum, then drizzled about 1/3 c brandy over the cake just prior to storage. Stored for 2 weeks wrapped in waxed paper in a tin in my fruit cellar. This will change everyone's mind about the dreaded fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
The house smells great! I already had a piece right out of the oven and it's pretty good. But I had to modify a bit because I don't have access to molasses so I increase brown sugar and add maple syrup. Also don't have candied citrus so I used dry apricot instead. Next time I will add a bit more spice maybe additional half a teaspoon each at least to intensify the flavor. The recipe makes 2 loaves and a low 6 inch cake for me, with baking time only 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essensual911

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Update: I've made this recipe over 3 Christmas now. I've halved the flour quantity in order to have a more fruity cake. Will keep this one going. Yummy!As my partner is not a fan of the glazed cherries I used dried cherries (pretty expensive, but worth it!)and it tastes lovely.I'm pouring 2tbsp of Brandy on each cake every 2 weeks.I don't think it needs any icing either as it's delicious as it is.Hope it lasts till xmas.Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States