Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
absolutely delicious! I added a little more brandy to the fruit than listed and soaked the fruit for a couple days before making the cake. I covered the cake with marzipan 3 weeks before Christmas and then covered that with royal icing a week before. I am not a fruitcake fan but I loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is my first time baking fruit cake & my bf just love it. thanks for the recipe! btw i added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg on top of all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The only difficulty is to gather all the ingredients. Apart from this, it's an easy, full of flavor recipe, very suitable for Christmas present. It makes 3 medium-sized cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ecdo
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is a WONDERFUL recipe!! I made this recipe the first week of November for my 82 year old father. He loves fruit cake. I gave it to him at Thanksgiving and by Dec 12 it was almost gone! I'm in the process of making a second batch. I took advice from others, paid extra and included dried cherries and some apricots. Dried cherries have an excellent flavor, and candied cherries are more for the appearance. In my opinion, both are necessary. I also omitted the citrus peal---yuck! (This is why most people hate fruit cake.) I also soaked the fruit for a week in bourbon. I don't think you could do this wrong. I also added peach Schnapps, since I had it. As the week went on, and the fruit become plumper, I added more alcohol. I also added pecan pieces and some walnut pieces. As suggested, I also only used about 1/2 of the "dough" so the fruit & nut concentration was higher. Turned out great! Lastly, I made this into 5 different size loaves. A couple were slightly larger than a cup cake. Make sure to keep some pecan halves and candied cherry pieces to decorate the top of the cake! Just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecdo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I tried this recipie for the first time and it came out far better than I ever expected. I don't drink so I replaced the brandy with more apple juice. I experimented a little with the ingedeances but it really turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I've never made Christmas Cake before but decided to give it a go this year. This recipe is fantastic. I made two cakes - one is stored away for Christmas and we've already eaten the first cake. I made no changes and found the recipe really easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I switched the dates for sultanas and added a little cherry brandy in addition to the brandy that the fruit absorbed overnight. I haven't tasted the cake yet but it looks and smells wonderful. Thanks for sharing, this one is a keeper. This cake tastes wonderful, we'll be eating it for a while but it keeps well. I decorated it with almond paste and fondant icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
It was hard , unmoist , and I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Everyone loved this. I made about 4 weeks before Xmas- wrapped it up good and tight and every week I would open it and poke wholes in it with a toothpick and pour a cap full of brandy over it. I don't eat Christmas cake but everyone loved it. Said it was so moist and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila McDonough

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Made this cake last christmas and with all the additions of nuts I added I am able to make two cakes of 9" pans. The reviews of this cake was endless!! Here are my changes due to my love for nuts and dislike of mix citris. I omitted the cherries. I used my home made orange rind minced fine. Doubled the (orange flaviored)currants used 3-4 cups dates. Addition to the almonds added another 4-5 cups of brazil, pecans, walnuts,hazil nuts..Doubled the seasoning. This cake for me bakes nicely within 2 1/2 hours at 250 degrees. After 2 hours I check to see how it is with a tooth pick or fine knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States