Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake is fabulous!! I love the molasses in it. I omitted the nuts because I don't care for them and added a little extra fruit. I make it every year and highly recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I made it 4 times last xmas, varying the fruit and spices each time. I even substituted the brandy with other liqueurs. As long as you maintain Carol's proportions, you really can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This Christmas cake rocks! I made it last year and it was gobbled up by the family in record time. This year I am gonna do some different fruit- dried cherries, cranberries, dates, currants, kiwi, and candied ginger. I'm sure it will be delish. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was my first time making Christmas cake, I only made it so my husband, who loves it, wouldn't go and buy one. And it is really good, but be warned it makes a huge amount, I didn't have a pan that would fit so I used two. There's so much we'll probably be eating it until March, but it keeps getting better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was my first time making fruit cake and it was delicious! I omitted the citrus peel (husband and I don't care for citrus peel) and substituted candied pineapple. I also omitted the currants and dates and used extra raisins to save a bit of money. I used apple juice in place of brandy. I definitely want to make this again next year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a very good Recipe, I put a different twist to this fruit cake I made a Chocolate FruitCake I add 1/2 cup Molasses 1/2 Cup Coco with a teaspoon instant coffee.added extra Dry fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
absolutely delicious! I added a little more brandy to the fruit than listed and soaked the fruit for a couple days before making the cake. I covered the cake with marzipan 3 weeks before Christmas and then covered that with royal icing a week before. I am not a fruitcake fan but I loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is my first time baking fruit cake & my bf just love it. thanks for the recipe! btw i added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg on top of all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The only difficulty is to gather all the ingredients. Apart from this, it's an easy, full of flavor recipe, very suitable for Christmas present. It makes 3 medium-sized cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ecdo
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is a WONDERFUL recipe!! I made this recipe the first week of November for my 82 year old father. He loves fruit cake. I gave it to him at Thanksgiving and by Dec 12 it was almost gone! I'm in the process of making a second batch. I took advice from others, paid extra and included dried cherries and some apricots. Dried cherries have an excellent flavor, and candied cherries are more for the appearance. In my opinion, both are necessary. I also omitted the citrus peal---yuck! (This is why most people hate fruit cake.) I also soaked the fruit for a week in bourbon. I don't think you could do this wrong. I also added peach Schnapps, since I had it. As the week went on, and the fruit become plumper, I added more alcohol. I also added pecan pieces and some walnut pieces. As suggested, I also only used about 1/2 of the "dough" so the fruit & nut concentration was higher. Turned out great! Lastly, I made this into 5 different size loaves. A couple were slightly larger than a cup cake. Make sure to keep some pecan halves and candied cherry pieces to decorate the top of the cake! Just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecdo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States