Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very good and I dont like fruitcake. I did let my fruit soak in the rum for 1week. It did take a little longer amount of time to cook but thats my oven. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Because of this cake I've become the fruit cake maker in the family...I did some modifications - minced & soaked my fruits overnight in brandy & after baking I sprinkle brandy or rum a couple of times on it. Also, try using a few cups more fruits - leave the rest of the ingredients as it. You can never have too much fruits in a fruit cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I've been meaning to review this recipe for a while - it's wonderful! I made this in November ready for our solstice celebration in December...and we're still eating it in March! This is quite a lot of work (but that appeals to me), and certainly isn't "cheap" to make, but the number of servings it provides and the fact that it keeps brilliantly in the pantry means it is excellent value for money and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I am really happy that the cake is moist but it is definitely a little different to the traditional English Christmas cake I was hoping for. Not as dense or flavoured! May be it will change as it hibernates. I like soaking the fruit in Brandy overnight. Also my toothpick came out clean but it wasn't done. I put it back twice! The toothpick thing usually works for me. If anyone can refer me to a good Christmas cake more like what I'm used to please do. One more thing I made it to serve "11" and it was still too much for my 8" round! If anyone else has one. If it changes I will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was my first time making fruitcake and I could not be happier with the results! I used golden raisins but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It makes a lot - I filled 2 loaf pans plus the 8x8 pan. It was delicious right out of the oven but much better soaked in brandy and stored wrapped in waxed paper and foil to allow to 'ripen'. Reminds me of my mom's fruitcake I loved as a kid. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This cake was awesome. I made 3 loaf pans of this recipe,super moist. Poked holes on top and drizzled 1 oz brandy over all 3 loaves once a week fro 3 weeks. Took slices to work and all my coworkers gave rave reviews.I love fruit cake and liked putting in fruit that I like,will try cranberries next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I tryed this recipe for the first time this year and it is fantastic. I substituted red and green candied cherries for some of the raisens and added a cup of brazil nuts, it turned out great and looks beautiful sliced. I will definetely make this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
My first Christmas Cake ever. Instead of molasses I used half/half golden syrup/treacle (live in the UK). Turned out great. My husband said it's better than any he's ever had, even his mums :))) I must say it's a bit dense but I like that about it. You'd want a rich, dense Christmas cake if you've got the Christmas spirit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
A beautiful cAke..... i adore making and is my second time of using this recipe ;o) it is delicous, moist,full of christmas fLavour!!!.... each bite takes me whisking back to being a young chiLd with my family and my dear nana god rest her used to make christmas cake every year........this is the 'one' that is just like her's!!!! a grandmothers cake just perfect... thaNk you for sharing this :o) AngeL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe is great. It takes a lot longer to cook (for me) than what is recommended but if you're patient, it'll come out great. I made it adhering t other users' comments about demerara sugar and soaking fruit overnight, but other than that, i kept all other ingredients exactly as written. I made it last year and although i don't christmas cake it myself, others looooved it. Made it again today for my parents, and it looks lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States