Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I tryed this recipe for the first time this year and it is fantastic. I substituted red and green candied cherries for some of the raisens and added a cup of brazil nuts, it turned out great and looks beautiful sliced. I will definetely make this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
My first Christmas Cake ever. Instead of molasses I used half/half golden syrup/treacle (live in the UK). Turned out great. My husband said it's better than any he's ever had, even his mums :))) I must say it's a bit dense but I like that about it. You'd want a rich, dense Christmas cake if you've got the Christmas spirit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
A beautiful cAke..... i adore making and is my second time of using this recipe ;o) it is delicous, moist,full of christmas fLavour!!!.... each bite takes me whisking back to being a young chiLd with my family and my dear nana god rest her used to make christmas cake every year........this is the 'one' that is just like her's!!!! a grandmothers cake just perfect... thaNk you for sharing this :o) AngeL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe is great. It takes a lot longer to cook (for me) than what is recommended but if you're patient, it'll come out great. I made it adhering t other users' comments about demerara sugar and soaking fruit overnight, but other than that, i kept all other ingredients exactly as written. I made it last year and although i don't christmas cake it myself, others looooved it. Made it again today for my parents, and it looks lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake is fabulous!! I love the molasses in it. I omitted the nuts because I don't care for them and added a little extra fruit. I make it every year and highly recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I made it 4 times last xmas, varying the fruit and spices each time. I even substituted the brandy with other liqueurs. As long as you maintain Carol's proportions, you really can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This Christmas cake rocks! I made it last year and it was gobbled up by the family in record time. This year I am gonna do some different fruit- dried cherries, cranberries, dates, currants, kiwi, and candied ginger. I'm sure it will be delish. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was my first time making Christmas cake, I only made it so my husband, who loves it, wouldn't go and buy one. And it is really good, but be warned it makes a huge amount, I didn't have a pan that would fit so I used two. There's so much we'll probably be eating it until March, but it keeps getting better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was my first time making fruit cake and it was delicious! I omitted the citrus peel (husband and I don't care for citrus peel) and substituted candied pineapple. I also omitted the currants and dates and used extra raisins to save a bit of money. I used apple juice in place of brandy. I definitely want to make this again next year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a very good Recipe, I put a different twist to this fruit cake I made a Chocolate FruitCake I add 1/2 cup Molasses 1/2 Cup Coco with a teaspoon instant coffee.added extra Dry fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States