Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2000
Made this dark fruit cake last Christmas also made a light fruit cake. The dark cake was eaten before Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Awesome. With a chef for a partner it can be a little hard to impress. But, "great cake babe" summed it up. Thanks Carol, followed your recipe to the letter. Did have a little mixture left but they made yummy muffin style "mini chrissy cakes" for "play lunch"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I tried this cake last Christmas. It was the best, ever. I used apricot brandy. I did not feel icing was necessary. I will most definitely make this cake again. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Goodwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella J.
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
After converting this recipe to metric I then poured the dry ingridents into Australian measuring cups. My husband helped, so we had two people ensuring the QA process, though if it goes wrong, blame the chef, not the recipe!! or me!! 2 1/2 cups glace cherries - not chopped 1 1/2 cups mixed citrus peel 2 cups raisins 1 cup currants ** 1 1/4 cup sultanas (substitution for dates) 1 1/4 cup slivered almonds 120 ml brandy - I use whisky instead 1/2 cup flour for the dredging 2 cups flour for the batter 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (same as baking soda) 1/2 teaspoon cloves - I sub with ginger 1/2 teaspoon all spice - I add 1 teaspoon 1/2 teaspoon cinamon - I add one teaspoon 1/2 teaspoon of salt 250g butter, as I could not be bothered leaving behind the 25 grams - your choice. 3 cups brown sugar 6 eggs 180ml treacle - couldn't find molasses 180ml apple juice - little tetra packs handy size to buy. Pleased double check ingredients against original recipe and for the spices please use your taste buds as some may require more. As there is heaps of batter use non stick baking paper to extend above the side of the tins, go at least 5cm as it does raise pretty high. Also from my experience it took about 3.5 hours in a fan forced oven. I based this on a 20cm round pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Fantastic cake! I also got 2 cakes. I sprinkled more brandy on the baked cakes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Thank you Carol for sharing a great recipe. I have been on the look out for a simple and good recipe for quite some time now. This cake turned out perfect, just the way I like it. Since I have a convection oven, I reduced the temperature by 25 degrees and my cake was done is 2 hours and 45 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe with so many readers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MACLEOD26
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I've been making fruitcakes for several years, dutifully wrapping them in liquor-soaked cheesecloth which I refreshed on a regular basis. Well, all I can say is 'Thank you Carol! I'll never soak a fruitcake again!' This is the most moist, delicious fruitcake I've ever eaten. No need to wrap in cheesecloth. I do recommend letting it 'mellow'. I soaked my fruit for a full 24 hrs. rather than overnight. I also mixed some dark rum in with the brandy. Being allergic to nuts, I omitted them and slightly increased my fruits. I baked in a tube pan, too. Anyway, the yummiest fruitcake around and it will make a believer out of the most vocal critic. >>>>>>>>>>>December 2010 update: Used Grand Marnier to soak the fruit this year and Muscovado sugar. Increased my dates to abt. 1.5 cups. Didn't think it was possible, but even yummier this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This recipe is awesome! The first year I've used it, I got several compliments from family and friends. The second year, I gave cakes away as gifts. Now people wait for it every Christmas. I have my great aunts - who are great cooks and bakers themselves and who are very critical about other people's cooking who actually want this recipe for themselves. Thank you for having shared it. I never thought making fruitcakes could be so fun and rewarding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I made this cake a couple weeks ago, I won't be trying it till xmas so I will update my review then. I left out the cinnamon and cloves and just used the allspice/mixed spice, my house smelt of mollases/treacle for days!!due to the 3/4 cup of it that went in, I have a funny feeling this will be way too strong a flavour and smell for me as all of the other recipes I have seen only call for a couple tablespoons of mollases!! but, I will let you know, I will obviously marzipan(almond paste/icing) and ice/frost the cake and decorate it, couple weeks before exmas I will skewer the cake in several places and poor over brandy and whisky (more for the flavour and kick rather than moistness) as I think this may be a moist cake anyway. I will report back after exmas or just after the first few comments on the cake. Hope it's good, it took 3hrs 35 mins to cook. UPDATE, after 2.5 weeks I took it out of the air tight container and unwraped it from the double layer of tin foil and layer of greaseproof and it smells gorgeous, no more mollases smell just a lovely traditional english christmas cake smell, almost like christmas pudding!! I skewered 5o times and poured over a tbls of each whisky and brandy.Update: Very moist but may add double the mixed spice next year. NOTE: this is for an 8" square cake if you use a round pan you must use a 9" one!! an 8" round fits exactly onto an 8" square one, so, you must allow for the corners (thats why a 9" round is needed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Really yummy cake, moist and packed densly with fruit. As previously mentioned, I also did get more than 1 cake with this recipe, however, it might be because i used a 8 X 8 X 2 inch pan rather than a 3 inch one. At least I got to taste it before it is served during christmas. Would have prefered a stronger brandied flavour, so I will moisten it with more brandy before christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMMOBUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States