Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
A beautiful cAke..... i adore making and is my second time of using this recipe ;o) it is delicous, moist,full of christmas fLavour!!!.... each bite takes me whisking back to being a young chiLd with my family and my dear nana god rest her used to make christmas cake every year........this is the 'one' that is just like her's!!!! a grandmothers cake just perfect... thaNk you for sharing this :o) AngeL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe is great. It takes a lot longer to cook (for me) than what is recommended but if you're patient, it'll come out great. I made it adhering t other users' comments about demerara sugar and soaking fruit overnight, but other than that, i kept all other ingredients exactly as written. I made it last year and although i don't christmas cake it myself, others looooved it. Made it again today for my parents, and it looks lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake is fabulous!! I love the molasses in it. I omitted the nuts because I don't care for them and added a little extra fruit. I make it every year and highly recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I made it 4 times last xmas, varying the fruit and spices each time. I even substituted the brandy with other liqueurs. As long as you maintain Carol's proportions, you really can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This Christmas cake rocks! I made it last year and it was gobbled up by the family in record time. This year I am gonna do some different fruit- dried cherries, cranberries, dates, currants, kiwi, and candied ginger. I'm sure it will be delish. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was my first time making Christmas cake, I only made it so my husband, who loves it, wouldn't go and buy one. And it is really good, but be warned it makes a huge amount, I didn't have a pan that would fit so I used two. There's so much we'll probably be eating it until March, but it keeps getting better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was my first time making fruit cake and it was delicious! I omitted the citrus peel (husband and I don't care for citrus peel) and substituted candied pineapple. I also omitted the currants and dates and used extra raisins to save a bit of money. I used apple juice in place of brandy. I definitely want to make this again next year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a very good Recipe, I put a different twist to this fruit cake I made a Chocolate FruitCake I add 1/2 cup Molasses 1/2 Cup Coco with a teaspoon instant coffee.added extra Dry fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
absolutely delicious! I added a little more brandy to the fruit than listed and soaked the fruit for a couple days before making the cake. I covered the cake with marzipan 3 weeks before Christmas and then covered that with royal icing a week before. I am not a fruitcake fan but I loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is my first time baking fruit cake & my bf just love it. thanks for the recipe! btw i added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg on top of all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States