Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Best Christmas/fruit cake recipe I've found ever. I keep to the weights of fruit and nuts but replace the whole lot with whatever dried fruit I've got at the time due to family allergies. Also I hate candied peel so use zest of a lemon and orange instead. You can soak the fruit for as long as you like, personally I soak mine in about a cup of port for a few months before cooking and then after cooking regularly baste the cake with port and masala for a few months before eating. Have some sitting here beside me in August that is still delicious from last years 6 cake effort baked in October, the longer you soak the longer it'll keep! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I tried this cake for Christmas for the first time and it came out very well just as described! it was a big hit!! & my cake was done in abt. 2 hrs. It's a very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
When i came across this recipe i was so excited as i am a massive christmas cake fan. Unfortunatly when i tasted it it was really not edable. It tasted very bitter and the texture wasnt what i was hoping for. I think that there is way too much malasses in it, hence the bitterness. I followed the recipie to exactly what it says. Also you will need to use a bigger pan. 15 minutes into cooking i had to take it out of the oven as it was overflowing. I used a 10 inch pan instead. Maybe i will make it again but with just a tablespoon of malasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
It tastes like molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very good and I dont like fruitcake. I did let my fruit soak in the rum for 1week. It did take a little longer amount of time to cook but thats my oven. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Because of this cake I've become the fruit cake maker in the family...I did some modifications - minced & soaked my fruits overnight in brandy & after baking I sprinkle brandy or rum a couple of times on it. Also, try using a few cups more fruits - leave the rest of the ingredients as it. You can never have too much fruits in a fruit cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I've been meaning to review this recipe for a while - it's wonderful! I made this in November ready for our solstice celebration in December...and we're still eating it in March! This is quite a lot of work (but that appeals to me), and certainly isn't "cheap" to make, but the number of servings it provides and the fact that it keeps brilliantly in the pantry means it is excellent value for money and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I am really happy that the cake is moist but it is definitely a little different to the traditional English Christmas cake I was hoping for. Not as dense or flavoured! May be it will change as it hibernates. I like soaking the fruit in Brandy overnight. Also my toothpick came out clean but it wasn't done. I put it back twice! The toothpick thing usually works for me. If anyone can refer me to a good Christmas cake more like what I'm used to please do. One more thing I made it to serve "11" and it was still too much for my 8" round! If anyone else has one. If it changes I will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was my first time making fruitcake and I could not be happier with the results! I used golden raisins but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It makes a lot - I filled 2 loaf pans plus the 8x8 pan. It was delicious right out of the oven but much better soaked in brandy and stored wrapped in waxed paper and foil to allow to 'ripen'. Reminds me of my mom's fruitcake I loved as a kid. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This cake was awesome. I made 3 loaf pans of this recipe,super moist. Poked holes on top and drizzled 1 oz brandy over all 3 loaves once a week fro 3 weeks. Took slices to work and all my coworkers gave rave reviews.I love fruit cake and liked putting in fruit that I like,will try cranberries next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States