Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Excellent Christmas brunch recipe. Made it this morning for the first time. Used bulk sausage instead of bacon, minced my mushrooms and onion (used only 1/4 of one onion)since the kids aren't fans and they didn't even know they were in there! Added a little Thyme, increased garlic salt and used 7 eggs per other's suggestion. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I think if I make it again I will half the potatoes and double the eggs, add roasted red peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Maudlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I prepared it Christmas Eve and baked it Christmas morning. The family is still taking a bite off of it as the day goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Loved it and will make it again. This time the only thing I changed from the recipe was to use 2 cups of cheese instead of one (one small package of pre-shredded cheese). I also cooked it for the first 45 min with tinfoil on it and then uncovered for the last 15 minutes and it was cooked beautifully. Next time however I will use only 1/2 tsp salt, as I did find it a bit salty. Also I was thinking of using more eggs but wanted to try it once as per the recipe. Next time I think I will add the extra eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was very good. I did tweak, I used 7 eggs and was heavy handed with the pepper. I also used half pound bacon and half pound sausage. Other than that followed the rest of the recipe. My teenage son really enjoyed it, even said I should make it for dinner sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made exactly as shown and it was a delicious! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I liked this "as is" but loved it once I made modifications. I feel this is a great "foundation" recipe, so the more or fewer things one adds to personalize the casserole the better. I used one more egg than called for along with egg white; used only half the amount of bacon and substituted sausage, which I cooked with green pepper, onion, and garlic in the bacon grease; added paprika and cayenne pepper; and used both a sharp cheddar and cheddar jack mix. I loved that I can prep this the night before and it still came out great. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piecemeal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This a a great basic recipe. I doubled the eggs as suggested by others, and generously seasoned the hash brown potatoes (which were basically chopped raw potato) before layering up the rest of the ingredients. Also, I ran the cooked bacon through the food processor, so it was chopped super fine. I added the cheese half way through cooking, otherwise it would have been burnt. It did not take one hour to cook, more like 45 min. I took it to work for a brunch, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made this for the morning after a New Years party knowing that no one was going to want to cook for a house full of company. I will now make this anytime I have family over for holidays!!!! My only mistake was I did not thaw the has browns which (like it clearly says to) so there was a bit too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made this as posted on Christmas Eve for Christmas brunch. The entire casserole is bland and dry. It needs more seasoning and maybe twice as many eggs. This is a decent base recipe but will be making adjustments in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States