Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Absolutely delicious!!! This was very easy to make and so nice in the morning to wake up and just put in the oven. My husband and I love this dish! Thanks for sharing this recipe! I didn't use mushrooms because my husband hates them. Here is what I used, spicy thawed hasbrowns(1 bag of Simply Potatoes, bacon, breakfast sausage (cooked and crumbled), onions, shredded cheddar cheese. I didn't really follow the measurements on the recipe for the seasoning, but gently sprinked over the hashbrowns in the dish. I also added an extra egg (recipe called for 4 and I used 5...will probably add an extra egg or two next time). Next time I will try also adding chopped green peppers, chopped jalapeno peppers, and maybe a few tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Needs more eggs for sure. I made it with ham and bacon, mixed in some of the cheese with eggs and then added more cheese on top the last 20 mins. Definitely use pepper or a little cayenne pepper for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Use half the onion, double the eggs, add some extra cheese to the potatoes, and put the cheese on top of the casserole in the last 20 minutes of baking or it will burn. Everyone loved this and even came back for leftovers later in the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Made this and people ate it but no-one was thrilled. Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I love it! I make it then divide it up for my breakfast for the week. I have even substituted ham for the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this caserole last year...it was a hit, even with the kids! I've been asked to make it again! It was easy. I took the advise and prepared it the night before. All I had to do the next morning was stick it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was very good. I prefer hash brown potatoes with fresh peppers instead of O'Brien potatoes. I took the advise of other reviews and increased the eggs to at least 5 and used 1 cup of cheese. This can be a bit dry on the bottom so I sauted the mushrooms, onions, peppers then put in 1/2 the potatoes with the seasonings and 1/2 of the vegetables. Then add the rest. Add the cheese to the last 15 min of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
After the rave reviews of this casserole I was very disappointed in the taste. I like many others added more eggs than the receipe called for. I'm very glad that I did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I was so excited to try this recipe. I made it Christmas morning for my family. It was easy to prepare and sounded wonderful. I was disappointed in how it tasted though. It was ok, just not as good as I expected. I would change the bacon to sausage, cut back on onions, and put cheese in the potatoes and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
There was not one crumb left of this Christmas morning. Everyone loved it. I was thinking of making it with sausage next time. Loved the hashbrowns instead of bread. Will keep this one on file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States