Christmas Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Added more eggs but didn't change anything else, the family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is fantastic! I followed other reviewers advice and doubled the amount of eggs and omitted the extra salt (it had enough salt from the bacon and from the sautéed onions in bacon fat). We used chopped-style hash browns, but next time we are gong to use tater tots to line the bottom of the pan (mmm tater tots). 40 minutes into baking, I noticed the cheese topping starting to brown- added a foil sheet with holes poked through to prevent further browning. At the 55 minute mark I removed the foil and added some more cheese. We then let it set for about 15 minutes before serving. The leftovers were just as delicious the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My 3 star opinion surprised me. Normally when I see a high star value on this site the recipe is great. In this case, it was just OK. I agree with some of the past comments - the casserole was mostly flavourless. My guess is that there is too much milk, diluting the eggs too much - you really couldn't taste eggs in the dish at all. Admittedly, I also halved the bacon and cheese to save some calories - that was a mistake because they appear to be the key seasonings. My guests enjoyed it. It was very easy to make, and it was a really nice part of the meal. But, I can see that it will take some more experimenting to perfect this recipe. Next time I prepare it I will increase the eggs and cut the milk by (at least) half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
We had this Christmas Brunch Casserole for brunch today...Christmas Day...and I must say I do like the ease of Christmas morning when all you have to do is put the pan in the oven while you have family time opening gifts. Had not made a casserole like this for many years cuz the kids were not fond of it when they were little. Made it today and there was only two pieces left! I changed the recipe a little as per our family's tastes: red pepper instead of mushrooms; more seasonings; more cheese that I added to the whole mixture as well as on top in the last 10 minutes of cooking and more eggs. (I have hungry boys!) I love the fact I can use potatoes in this recipe instead of bread as per other similar recipes as there are gluten sensitivities in the family. All in all a good recipe and a great concept! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I used sausage instead of bacon and 6 eggs instead of 4. Still, at 400 degrees for an hour, the cheese on top was completely burned and the bottom was pretty much the same. What was left in the middle was okay. I should have checked it during the hour, but I put it in to bake while we opened Christmas presents. Very disappointed. I'll try again with a lower temp and/or less time, maybe mix it up as some suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I think this was a very delicious casserole, and very easy. I only changed it just a bit after reading reviews and to suit our tastes. I used 8 eggs and about a cup more hashbrowns because I love potatoes. I used 9 slices of bacon. I omitted the onions because no one in my house (except me) enjoys them, and also did not use mushrooms because I had none on hand. However, I do think it would make a nice addition. I had a red bell pepper so I diced half of it up and added it raw where you would add the sauteed mushrooms and onion. I made this on Christmas morning instead of overnight, so I baked at 350 for 45 minutes and added the cheese the last 15 minute so that it was more melty instead of a crust on top. I think this is a great recipe and you can customize it to your liking, much like an omelet. It also warms up nicely for leftovers, a big plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wonderful, perfect for Christmas morning! I added more eggs & more cheese. Will make again for New Years too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpar1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made some adjustments to original recipe. Used eight eggs, mixed everything together, added only the garlic salt and omitted regular salt, thawed hash browns in micro and removed excess moisture. Also I used a mix of cheddar cheese and mozzarella and added french fried onions last five minutes only. This was perfect in appearance and everyone liked it. I also used two generous cups of milk. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I found this recipe a few years ago, and have had it in my AllRecipes recipe box ever since... the absolute BEST breakfast casserole-type dish I've ever had. Savory and yummy without being greasy or bready. Using the hash browns instead of bread is genious! The only changes I've ever made is to add some fresh garlic when I saute the mushrooms, and to add a little cayenne to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Used all the recipe ingredients (added extra eggs), just put them in the pan differently. I layered the hash browns on the bottom of the pan,mixed the remaining ingredients together & poured it over the hash browns. I didn't refridgerate it but baked it right away. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States