Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I thought this would be good but it was awesome. Fluffy but filling, amazing taste, and easy to make. I made it with sage sausage, six eggs, one cup of half-and-half, and thick cubes of white bread, untoasted. I also added a spoonful of Dijon mustard. New Christmas Eve morning tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is quick, easy and tastes great! We have now made this a Christmas tradition. I add onions and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Andover, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is delicious. I often add more meat and cheese and less bread, but it depends on what you like. We make it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Thanks for making me a Sunday morning hero! Couldn't wait for Christmas, so made it for Sunday morning. The only substitution was Texas Toast seasoned croutons instead of bread. The smell woke everyone up; no Mom alarm needed. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tardyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've made this casserole for the past three Christmas mornings. I use chorizo sausage, sharp cheddar and dried out Italian bread. Last year I added the green onions. I have also increased the number of eggs to six. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Use whole milk and at least 6 eggs and I think it will not be as soggy. I also used a little more dry mustard love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
THIS IS GOOD BUT, IT NEEDS SOMETHING .MAYBE GREEN ONIONS OR SOME GREEN VEGE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Neill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have to agree that this is a basic recipe and needs more vegetables. I think onions and mushrooms would be a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I think this recipe has real potential -- it sounds VERY good -- but I think I would make a few VERY MINOR tweaks to it: such as using a whole-grain bread instead of white bread, and using a blend of cheeses, maybe Pepper Jack, Sharp Cheddar, and something crumbled, like a Bleu or a Feta, for a little more depth of flavor. I also notice that several reviews recommend using only ONE cup of dairy, rather than 2, and some onion, so I would probably do that as well. (Yes, yes, I know...I usually preach the idea of trying a recipe as written the first time, then adjusting it after that.) (Also, I gave it three stars as this was as close as I could get to a neutral rating until I can actually try it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I also agree this is a good "base" recipe for a Breakfast Strata. Depending on the crowd we either make a savory or a sweet version of this. Savory version, finely chop a half sweet onion, red, poblano & jalapeño pepper & sauté with the sausage (either mild Italian, spicy breakfast or other) and use a good stale sourdough bread. Sweet version, peel and finely chop 1 or 2 apples, add some dried cranberries & blueberries and sauté with sausage, use a hearty whole wheat bread and add a little molasses, cinnamon & maple syrup to the milk/egg mixture. Letting this sit overnight is key. When you get up to let the dog out in the morning all you need do is turn on the oven, put Strata in, go back to sleep for an hour and when you wake up breakfast is done by the time the coffee is ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,038) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States