Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Enjoyed this, but didn't wow us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made exact to recipe. You need to make this day before and refrigerate overnight. Otherwise, it will not properly set. I found this rather bland. I think it is a good base recipe to add to. Next time I will use 8x8 baking dish. I used 8x10, and still too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Good! Nice to make it the night before, and just pop it in the oven next day. Following suggestions of others, I used the maple flavored sausage, 6 eggs, and just 1 cup of half and half - might use a little more the next time. I used sourdough bread, just left out to dry all day. I baked in a 12" round quiche pan, which was just the right size. I was a little surprised that the bread kind of disappeared .... tasted good, but I think I expected the bread to be more obvious! We aren't big cheese fans, so I cut back on the cheese, using about half the amount in with the eggs and sausage, and a little more sprinkled on top. Enjoyed it with just a touch of real maple syrup on top! Had leftovers today, and it reheated well in the microwave. This made about 6 servings for us. (I generally don't make so many changes, but as others have mentioned, this is a good base recipe that can be customized to your taste - wanted to note changes for my own purposes for the next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was good but next time I will use a smaller pan. I followed the recipe exactly and it was too thin and a bit too dark for my finicky daughter although the flavor was very good. I see why other reviewers were happy using 6 or more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is the second year in a row that I have made this for Christmas brunch and my family loves it. I make it a little differently each time just to be different, but the recipe as it is described is delicious. This has become a staple on Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
We really liked this with my tweaking. Added onion and used "hot" sausage. The only other thing I might change is use hashbrowns instead of the bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Delish! Family loved it (on xmas 'morning'). Doubled in a 10x15. Used 12 eggs as some suggested, used 60% whole wheat and added poultry seasoning, paprika, crushed pepper flakes. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Delicious. I doubled the batch, used extra cheese (sharp), added crumbled bacon, and mixed Jimmy Dean's sage sausage with Jimmy Dean regular. I also cut nice thick slices of French bread to toast. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used ground turkey sautéed w onions, peppers and mushrooms. Sour dough English muffins instead of bread. Only half the cheese. Wonderful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Used low-salt farmers sausage. Turned out great. Put it in the oven before opening gifts this morning and just as we finished the casserole was ready. Great make-ahead recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States