Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great! What I liked best about this recipe was that the casserole baked up thinner than most breakfast casserole recipes. In my opinion, that made this casserole superior in that the whole thing cooked up evenly and remained moist and tender. I think adding more eggs to this recipe would destroy the whole thing that makes it so great. It has been my experience that big, thick breakfast casseroles do not cook up evenly and half of the casserole is dried out and overdone while you bake it to death to cook the center! My go to now and I've tried a lot of these recipes. Only thing I did different was use fresh Italian sausage and it added nice spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I read a lot of the other reviews and got paranoid that this thing would be flat and flavorless, so I did add 2 extra eggs and some grated fresh onion. My changes were delicious but I bet the original recipe is great if you really follow it. The ground mustard is key to de-bland-ifying it, and toasting the bread is imperative for avoiding a gross mush-fest. Also be sure to use pork SAUSAGE, which is spiced, as opposed to plain ground pork -- or add your own spices if you're using plain pork. My only caveat is I'd say make this one even further ahead than the recommendation, since it takes 90 minutes to bake (which is about 75 minutes longer than I like to wait for my breakfast on Christmas or any morning). Anyway, thumbs way up. Delicious, hearty, filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used the maple sausage and we did not like it. I may try it again with regular sausage, but don't know yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was delish! I used hot sausage, added a couple more eggs, some aged sharp cheddar and green onion. Super easy, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've made this using this recipe several times. Great as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I used hashbrowns in the bottom instead of toast and it's awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We took the crouton advise and had it on Xmas morning. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe I have had for several years, but not as conveniently located.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My family said that this was the best Sausage Casserole they had ever eaten. I substituted a few ingredients: 1 1/4 teaspoon mustard powder instead of 1, no salt, 8 eggs instead of 6, 1 box of Texas Toast Croutons Garlic & Butter instead of the 6 slices of bread. I added my own touch by adding 1 small can of chopped green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made a few adjustments and served it for Xmas brunch. It was a hit! I added 4 more eggs and an extra half teaspoon each of salt and mustard powder. I added 3/4 diced red bell pepper and 3 chopped green onions to add the colors of the holiday. I also used natural white Vermont cheddar instead of orange cheddar. The end result was delicious and I just made it again. We keep it in the fridge and heat slices for quick and easy breakfast on weekday mornings. Keeps well in the fridge for 3-4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,040) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States