Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is delicious, easy, and gives me something to do with that bread that's going a little stale...my husband is army and has pt in the morning and I tell you what when he gets home and sees this, he's always happy, a little hot sauce and he's a happy boy. Only thing is, it can be a little unpredictable on cooking time, but it's always yummy. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I used toasted Hawaian rolls versus bread. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have been. Along this for years with one tweak. My family always asks for it. One day I couldn't remember an ingredient so I was happy to find a similar version here. Instead of bread , I line the bottom of the pan with frozen potato cakes. Delicious. Also the recipe tastes great when you bake it right away but it holds up much better when it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This was AWESOME! I was a rock star thanks to you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAS94590

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made this in bulk and gave it away for Christmas gifts. I was loved by all. Didn't change anything except maybe adding more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
It was delicious, and everyone else thought so too. I used croutons rather than soft bread, and a mix of cheeses (cheddar, mozzarella and monterey jack) so it wouldn't be so greasy. Aside from those small changes, I followed the recipe exactly and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I just made this recipe and was not impressed. Smelled amazing but did not have much flavor. I made exactly as directed. The center was moist but the edges and bottom were pretty tough. That is a pretty long cook time too for all that it is. I just figured if ya have to change a recipe that much to make it how ya like it, you might as well try another one or just make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe! I didn't use dry mustard because it tends to have an ashtray aftertaste but I used a little regular mustard,one extra egg and I crumbled three pieces of Bacon on top to make it even more "heart attack " good...sooo awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great! What I liked best about this recipe was that the casserole baked up thinner than most breakfast casserole recipes. In my opinion, that made this casserole superior in that the whole thing cooked up evenly and remained moist and tender. I think adding more eggs to this recipe would destroy the whole thing that makes it so great. It has been my experience that big, thick breakfast casseroles do not cook up evenly and half of the casserole is dried out and overdone while you bake it to death to cook the center! My go to now and I've tried a lot of these recipes. Only thing I did different was use fresh Italian sausage and it added nice spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I read a lot of the other reviews and got paranoid that this thing would be flat and flavorless, so I did add 2 extra eggs and some grated fresh onion. My changes were delicious but I bet the original recipe is great if you really follow it. The ground mustard is key to de-bland-ifying it, and toasting the bread is imperative for avoiding a gross mush-fest. Also be sure to use pork SAUSAGE, which is spiced, as opposed to plain ground pork -- or add your own spices if you're using plain pork. My only caveat is I'd say make this one even further ahead than the recommendation, since it takes 90 minutes to bake (which is about 75 minutes longer than I like to wait for my breakfast on Christmas or any morning). Anyway, thumbs way up. Delicious, hearty, filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,038) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States