Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Add garlic, scallions and any vegetable you want = perfection! Perfectly fine not letting it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicajoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was a big hit with the family. I roughly one-and-a-halfed the recipe, which fit much better in a 9x13. I used: 1.5 5-oz bags of cheddar garlic croutons, 1.5 lbs sausage (1 lb spicy and .5 lb regular), 1.5 t ground mustard, NO extra salt (as croutons add a lot), 14 eggs (it could have even used more eggs--this casserole is heavy on the sausage), about 3.5 c milk (a bit less than the 4.5 c called for in a 1.5 recipe), and maybe 3/4 to 1 lb shredded cheese (less than called for b/c croutons add cheese flavor as well). It baked for about 1 hr 15 minutes at 350. I removed the foil cover for about 20 minutes in the middle, but ended up replacing it for the last 15 mins so the top didn't get too brown. Next time I will add grilled peppers and onions and maybe more eggs. Good to feed a big crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I made this on Christmas day and did not toast the bread cubes either. It was delicious and every last bit was gone. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Hubby loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made this for Christmas this past year and still think about when I can find an excuse to make it again. It was SO good....I only made one pyrex 9x13 size and it was gone in about 5 minutes flat. I will definitely be making 2 next time! Also, the mustard makes it really yellow which you think cant possibly be right, but it is, and it is so incredibly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Best breakfast casserole! Made this for an Easter brunch and everyone loved it. I used Jimmy Dean Hot sausage. I didn't realize it was an overnight dish until the morning I needed it, but it still worked great. Combined everything and put it in the freezer for 1/2 hour. Baked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
LOVED this for holiday get togethers. Use the Marie Callendar's Cheese & Garlic Croutons as others suggest, and try HOT sausage for an extra kick... last, if you are making this for Christmas, try adding red and green bell peppers, which add a nice crunch AND are perfectly colored for the season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I have been making this recipe for several years now and it is excellent! I add 1/2 teaspoon additional mustard and replace 1/2 cup of the milk with heavy cream and I always get rave reviews with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a great base recepie that you can customize to any taste! My custom changes: to add a 'crust' get a pillsbury crossant package, and unroll the whole package and place it on the bottom of your 9x13 (after using your favorite non-stick spray). Its great for vegitarians also, I used diced veggies & boca 'veggie crumbles' instead of sausage and it was a HIT! Have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family enjoyed this when I cooked it for them on Christmas morning. I think I'll try hashbrowns next time instead of bread pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,046) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States