Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I read a lot of the other reviews and got paranoid that this thing would be flat and flavorless, so I did add 2 extra eggs and some grated fresh onion. My changes were delicious but I bet the original recipe is great if you really follow it. The ground mustard is key to de-bland-ifying it, and toasting the bread is imperative for avoiding a gross mush-fest. Also be sure to use pork SAUSAGE, which is spiced, as opposed to plain ground pork -- or add your own spices if you're using plain pork. My only caveat is I'd say make this one even further ahead than the recommendation, since it takes 90 minutes to bake (which is about 75 minutes longer than I like to wait for my breakfast on Christmas or any morning). Anyway, thumbs way up. Delicious, hearty, filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I used the maple sausage and we did not like it. I may try it again with regular sausage, but don't know yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was delish! I used hot sausage, added a couple more eggs, some aged sharp cheddar and green onion. Super easy, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've made this using this recipe several times. Great as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potre Quinn
Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I used hashbrowns in the bottom instead of toast and it's awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We took the crouton advise and had it on Xmas morning. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This recipe I have had for several years, but not as conveniently located.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My family said that this was the best Sausage Casserole they had ever eaten. I substituted a few ingredients: 1 1/4 teaspoon mustard powder instead of 1, no salt, 8 eggs instead of 6, 1 box of Texas Toast Croutons Garlic & Butter instead of the 6 slices of bread. I added my own touch by adding 1 small can of chopped green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made a few adjustments and served it for Xmas brunch. It was a hit! I added 4 more eggs and an extra half teaspoon each of salt and mustard powder. I added 3/4 diced red bell pepper and 3 chopped green onions to add the colors of the holiday. I also used natural white Vermont cheddar instead of orange cheddar. The end result was delicious and I just made it again. We keep it in the fridge and heat slices for quick and easy breakfast on weekday mornings. Keeps well in the fridge for 3-4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I've made this recipe a couple of times now and have always been very pleased with the results. I even made a double batch for work. I work with 13 (male) engineers and they all loved it! Their comment: "You can bring that anytime you want!" If you can make 13 engineers happy, you've certainly got a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States