Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I also agree this is a good "base" recipe for a Breakfast Strata. Depending on the crowd we either make a savory or a sweet version of this. Savory version, finely chop a half sweet onion, red, poblano & jalapeño pepper & sauté with the sausage (either mild Italian, spicy breakfast or other) and use a good stale sourdough bread. Sweet version, peel and finely chop 1 or 2 apples, add some dried cranberries & blueberries and sauté with sausage, use a hearty whole wheat bread and add a little molasses, cinnamon & maple syrup to the milk/egg mixture. Letting this sit overnight is key. When you get up to let the dog out in the morning all you need do is turn on the oven, put Strata in, go back to sleep for an hour and when you wake up breakfast is done by the time the coffee is ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Just tried this recipe and after reading the reviews, I followed the recipe almost to the T except I used 8 eggs, 8 slices of wheat toast,2 tablespoons of parsley & 1 1/2 cups of milk to avoid it being too soggy. I also used ground turkey sage sausage. My boys loved it, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love this casserole, but has anyone else found the baking time to be too long? Has anyone made adjustments to the oven temp or time in the oven that have helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have made this recipe for years and we gobble it down!! It also travels well if you are going to a breakfast carry-in. The only change I've made over the years is the addition of some chopped peppers and onions -- be careful, the onions can get overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I'm going to make this for Christmas morning breakfast but, since one of my children does not eat pork, I will substitute mushrooms for the sausage and perhaps add some additional seasonings to make up the flavor. I think I'd rather have mushrooms than fake sausage since the reviews i've read for them are not favorable. I'll let you know how it turns out. Difficult to rate since I haven't tried it but will give it 4 stars since everyone else seems to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb4realestate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Koloa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this when family came over for Thanksgiving and I did not find this good at all. I won't be making this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is a great "use what ya got" recipe. I'm sure it's great as is but I changed it to use a few things in the fridge. I used 7 eggs (med size from a friend), 2 cups organic whole milk, 1/2 loaf of 2 day old rustic wheat artisan bread cubed, 1/2 lb diced ham, 4 beef jalapeno natural sausage, 1 1/2 cups vintage white cheddar, Himalayan Pink Salt, rainbow pepper, garlic powder, & freeze dried shallots. omitted the mustard powder. Browned sausage and ham in a 12in cast iron skillet, let cool slightly and mixed everything right into the skillet. Let sit on counter for 1/2 hour till the bread had absorbed the egg mixture. Baked 40 mins on 325*. It came out great! Be creative and waaste not, want not :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnetteRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
this looks REALLY YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Lean! If followed your refrigerator overnight. It tured out great... THANKS you guysl of you guys my family truly enjoy. ed it you guys have a wonderful holiday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,039) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States