Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Thanks for making me a Sunday morning hero! Couldn't wait for Christmas, so made it for Sunday morning. The only substitution was Texas Toast seasoned croutons instead of bread. The smell woke everyone up; no Mom alarm needed. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tardyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've made this casserole for the past three Christmas mornings. I use chorizo sausage, sharp cheddar and dried out Italian bread. Last year I added the green onions. I have also increased the number of eggs to six. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Use whole milk and at least 6 eggs and I think it will not be as soggy. I also used a little more dry mustard love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
THIS IS GOOD BUT, IT NEEDS SOMETHING .MAYBE GREEN ONIONS OR SOME GREEN VEGE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Neill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have to agree that this is a basic recipe and needs more vegetables. I think onions and mushrooms would be a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I think this recipe has real potential -- it sounds VERY good -- but I think I would make a few VERY MINOR tweaks to it: such as using a whole-grain bread instead of white bread, and using a blend of cheeses, maybe Pepper Jack, Sharp Cheddar, and something crumbled, like a Bleu or a Feta, for a little more depth of flavor. I also notice that several reviews recommend using only ONE cup of dairy, rather than 2, and some onion, so I would probably do that as well. (Yes, yes, I know...I usually preach the idea of trying a recipe as written the first time, then adjusting it after that.) (Also, I gave it three stars as this was as close as I could get to a neutral rating until I can actually try it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I also agree this is a good "base" recipe for a Breakfast Strata. Depending on the crowd we either make a savory or a sweet version of this. Savory version, finely chop a half sweet onion, red, poblano & jalapeño pepper & sauté with the sausage (either mild Italian, spicy breakfast or other) and use a good stale sourdough bread. Sweet version, peel and finely chop 1 or 2 apples, add some dried cranberries & blueberries and sauté with sausage, use a hearty whole wheat bread and add a little molasses, cinnamon & maple syrup to the milk/egg mixture. Letting this sit overnight is key. When you get up to let the dog out in the morning all you need do is turn on the oven, put Strata in, go back to sleep for an hour and when you wake up breakfast is done by the time the coffee is ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Just tried this recipe and after reading the reviews, I followed the recipe almost to the T except I used 8 eggs, 8 slices of wheat toast,2 tablespoons of parsley & 1 1/2 cups of milk to avoid it being too soggy. I also used ground turkey sage sausage. My boys loved it, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love this casserole, but has anyone else found the baking time to be too long? Has anyone made adjustments to the oven temp or time in the oven that have helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have made this recipe for years and we gobble it down!! It also travels well if you are going to a breakfast carry-in. The only change I've made over the years is the addition of some chopped peppers and onions -- be careful, the onions can get overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,044) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States