Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe, exactly as it is writeen, for our annual Christmas morning breakfast with all of the family for the last several years and it is always a hit. Everyone looks forward to it because it is the only time that I make it. The only thing I've had to do over the years is double the recipe and bake in a big foil pan as the size of our family has grown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I've made this a few times now and think I've perfected it solely on how my family likes things. Its a great starter recipe that's easy to add or subtract things. I used 8 eggs, increased the mustard powder to 2 tsp. (Don't skip the mustard powder, you'd be surprised what a nice flavor it adds!)After going strictly by the recipe the first time, I had to try the garlic&cheddar croutons instead after reading several of the reviews suggesting it. WOW! Never will go back to basic bread with the recipe again! My kids love it for special holidays and since it's only 3 days away, they are making sure I'm going to serve it this Christmas too. It's so nice to get up and pop a casserole into the oven and have it filling the house with its wonderful aroma while we relax and open presents. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I have been making this now for 21 years on Christmas morning...I agree its so good because we only have it then..I think my family would be very disappointed if I stopped. I only do one think different. I use white bread and butter the bottom and then layer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I always double the recipe. But, I add fresh green onions chopped and fresh tomatoes diced and sometimes mushrooms! I get rave reviews and my
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Does anyone else think that the cooking time in this recipe is too long? I had a really dried out disaster on my hands the last time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
so good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Wow! This recipe was amazing. I did 1/2 of ground breakfast sausage and 1/4 pound of well cooked back that I crumbled into it. I also added diced potato's and my family absolutely loved it. This is going to be our new special breakfast treat! Highly recommend to all, though only as a special treat as it's not very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Very easy and good recipe. I added some bacon and a herb mix I use often to make it more suitable to our taste. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this last weekend for a early family Thanksgiving breakfast. Everyone loved it. I didn't let it soak over night or even 8 hours and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I've used a very similar recipe that has been in my family for many years.. Handed down from the South! We like Leah use half/ half (1-1/2 cup) instead of whole milk. We use sharp cheddar cheese ( 9 to 16 oz) the more cheese the better for us. Wheat or white bread ...buttered on one side (UN- toasted) place buttered side down when putting in pan. We are meat lovers so we double meat (Sage Sausage Only)...better flavor...Or we do one side Sage sausage (1lb), one side thick sliced bacon (1lb). The last difference is we add black pepper (1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon) along with salt, and mustard powder. Follow the same instructions..And add your own flare to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Caldwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States