Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by JohnH
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I'm a little delayed in posted my response here, but it made our Christmas morning (and the next morning, and the next morning.) Ignore any review for less than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this yesterday, not one of my favorite's, don't know why you have to put it in the fridge overnight unless it is to save time hubby liked it won't be making it very often perhaps thats why this is a once a year recipe? I did add some mushrooms that was the best part for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe & very versatile. I like mine a little richer, so I use 6 eggs and substitute milk for half & half. You can substitute the sausage with bacon or broccoli (or use a combination). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Bowman
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made this for Christmas morning the last several years. The only thing I do different is add less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe. Very easy to prepare the night before. All of my guests were complimentary. I used italian ground pork sausage and it gave the dish an even more flavour. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Larkin Powell
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
We enjoyed this on Christmas Eve morning. A nice basic recipe. I added two pinches of dried cilantro; next time, I would use fresh or add a couple more pinches to spice it up. This is a shallow recipe (about an inch thick in a 9x13 pan), so not overbearing and huge. Nice portions. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larkin Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ruby
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I followed most of original recipe but used 6 eggs (instead of 4), half-n-half (instead of milk), 1 tablespoon of prepared mustard (instead of ground mustard), and 9-grain bread (instead of white). Using 13X9" glass baking dish I layered bread first, then sausage, then cheese before adding egg mixture. Then I covered with plastic wrap and refrigerated overnight. The next morning I pulled out casserole before preheating oven (didn't want to plunge the Pyrex glassware into a hot oven). After removing plastic wrap, I baked at 350F for 25 min's, but I rotated the baking dish after 15 minutes. It looked terrific, all bubbly and set (see my photo)! It looked and sliced more like a savory french toast than like a quiche. If you want more of a quiche then add more eggs--as for me I'm good with my results! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I make this every year for Christmas breakfast. I use light pork sausage or turkey sausage. All of the family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
We do this as well but use peameal bacon and a dash of worcestershire sauce instead of sausage and mustard. We just line a 9X13 pan with the slices of bread and then the meat (raw) and pour the egg mixture over. Top with shredded cheese and some pepper and it is great. Make the night before and pop it in the oven when you get up and it is then ready in about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My family loves this dish. It has been our family tradition for 20 years. I add 1 1/2 -2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese, mushrooms and green pepper. I also use 6 eggs and only 1 cup of milk. I never toast the bread and don't think it would make a difference-Denise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,052) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States