Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My family did not like this recipe. It was bland and did not taste very good. I have been making Christmas Morning Pie (another recipe you can find on this website) for several years. I wanted to change things up this year, and decided to try this recipe. I will never make this again. The texture was okay but the flavor was bland! Nobody ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I make this recipe regularly for my family... I have tweeked it to make it absolutely fantastic.. First, I use Jimmy Dean HOT sausage. For the bread, I use sourdough bread and just tear it to fill the entire bottom of the pan. I let it sit overnight, or freeze it if it will be several days... The morning of the breakfast, I take one can of cream of Mushroom soup, and mix it with 1/2 of can of milk and pour over the casserole. I cook until it is hot and bubbly... absolutely delicious now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Added deer crumnle sausage instead, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was very good but I did change it a little. I used most of a 5 ounce bag of flavored croutons instead of plain bread. Also I used a square pan because if you used the 9x13 inch pan it would of been too thin. I would defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by froglady1965

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great dish, needs more eggs. I added white pepper and used sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The casserole was okay. but i altered the ingredients a little, so if i stuck closer to the original recipe, than it probably would have been better. i used maple sausage, added onions, mushrooms, 1 1/2 bags of garlic and cheese croutons and 8 eggs. should have had more eggs and less croutons. 9x11 casserole dish was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelG12

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this casserole for a Christmas brunch for my family.It was an instant hit. It is a great recipe however I did tweak it to make it a bit more flavorful. I doubled the recipe and used wheat bread instead of white, added 1/2 cup of onion, green bell pepper & red bell pepper to sausage while cooking & used Kroger brand casserole cheese blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have used this recipe for holiday breakfasts/brunches for years and everyone likes it. What makes it so good is it's simplicity, yet great flavor. I add onion when I cook the sausage and double the recipe. Actually, I don't really measure anything. As long as the bread cubes have been covered by the egg mixture, it'll be good. You can't mess it up. That's 5 star quality when you have a house full with you as you are trying to prepare! Egg, bread, and meat...add a fruit salad and it works!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very tasty, very filling! I made this on Christmas night and discovered I had no ground pork sausage. I sliced up pork sausage links and hoped for the best. I baked it in my toaster oven and it looked lovely and brown after 45 minutes. It turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great recipe for leftover croutons! We made ours dairy free By subbing unsweetened coconut milk for milk and skipped the cheese....still Delish because we loaded ours up with sauteed beef summer sausage, Onions, mushrooms, green beans and sauteed pepperoni. We also Erred and disnt cover whilecooking, but it still came out Moist , but took about 30 mins less. This is so easy, light And delish. I look forward to making more and playing With the recipe to try new combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,041) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States