Christian's Killer BBQ and Grill Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Pretty darn good, but a little bit salty for my taste. Would be perfect with a bit less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Because I'm low on worchestershire sauce, I used all soy sauce. I made my own salt-free seasoning blend and instead of using garlic powder, I used fresh minced garlic. For the prepared mustard, I used dijon. I omitted the hickory smoke only because I was out at the moment and the seasoning salt because I did not want to have an overpowering flavor of salt and the soy sauce was salty enough as is. I mixed this up early this morning and set my chicken to marinade all day in it, only messing with it every few hours or so to rotate the chicken. This turned out a VERY flavorful chicken that really smelled amazing while it was cooking. I ended up serving this with Vegetable Fried Rice and it was a tasty and filling dinner that didn't cost much to make at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a good marinade, but I had to tinker a bit as I don't use seasoning salt or salt-free blend, so perhaps as the author suggests, it's just not as good w/out them. I compensated with Greek Seasoning and a fajita seasoning blend that's essentially like seasoned salt. Overall, it made for a good marinade, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I made this marinade for chicken while camping. I followed the recipe, w/the exception of omitting browning sauce, simply because I didn't have any. These were a nice tasting kabob. I didn't LOVE them (there was a flavor I didn't really care for; I think, perhaps, the *alcohol* taste from the whiskey?), but will perhaps, make them again if I'm looking to mix things up. TY for an interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is a killer marinade - absolutely loved it and it was worth the effort! I cut the recipe in half, but still kept the liquid smoke at 1 Tbsp. I used italian seasoning for the salt free seasoning, dijon for the prepared mustard and minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I marinated chicken thighs and drumsticks for a day and a half. The chicken was very moist, full of flavor and had a rich caramel color coming off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was really good for grilled chicken. I cut down on the salt quite a bit but other than that followed the recipe. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I didn't have browning sauce or liquid smoke and the marinade was still excellent! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
absolutely wonderful! I didn't have any whiskey so subbed with orange juice. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Delicious! We marinated a London Broil in this mixture for what turned out to be 2 days, and the flavor was wonderful. A tad on the sweet side for beef, so I added a few drops of hot sauce. I am dying to try this on chicken, exactly as written. I think the combination of ingredients would be absolutely perfect. Thanks so much, Christian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
very nice TANG to this marinade. enjoyed it very much, even without the whiskey! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

How to Clean Your Grill

A clean grill makes food taste better and the grill last longer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States