Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This was fabulous! I used purple onion instead of yellow and placed the sugar, vinegar, and olive oil in the blender before pouring them over the tomatoes. Even my kids liked this. For the adults I added some crumbled blue cheese and black olives on top. Everyone was very impressed! Thanks Chrissy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This salad was GREAT! That is, once I made some modifications. One is (from the advice from one of the reviewers), I used a purple onion instead of yellow. I also added thin cucumber slices and red and green bell pepppers and used olive oil instead of veggie oil. I found the juice to be flat - I wanted more dimension than just sour and flat - so I tossed in some Mrs. Dash table blend and a dash of galic salt and then microwaved the mixture so that the sugar would melt and the tastes would blend. From the spoon it tasted like oil, but dip a cucumber slice and... WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This salad was really easy to make and very delicious. A great addition to any summer meal. I made it with store bought tomatoes, I can only imagine how great it would taste with tomatoes from ones own garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
One word to describe this recipe, delicious! This recipe was so easy to prepare. I made a small modification to the recipe since I'm watching my fat intake. I just simply eliminated the oil and it was still fanstastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Wow! This is an awesome and easy recipe. My company loved it. It was two helpings each at my dinner table. I also used yellow, red and green peppers to add color. Thanks Chrissy for a tasty treat. Deborah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Borah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe was so simple and so tasty! I have a small tomato garden and wanted to try something different (yet easy!) with the extra tomatoes I had, and this was perfect. I used Olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and it turned out delicious. Everyone loved it and raved about it. It has become a quick, easy, delicious and always popular dish to take to picnics and gatherings. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
This recipe is great, and wonderful for picnics. I use olive oil, and even add green peppers, celery, or even celery seeds once in a while. Just a nice addition to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
A co-worker brought this dish in for a pot-luck luncheon... let me tell you, she was swamped with people begging for the recipe! She made sure to refer them to this recipe - and this fantastic website! I also made this salad to bring to a dinner at a neighbor's, and I was swamped with requests! I came prepared with printed copies of this recipe! Everyone raved about it! I also can hardly wait until tomatoes are in season! Wish I knew at the beginning of this summer! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I chopped up the tomatoes and added some chopped cukes and red peppers. The leftovers I mixed with a little lettuce and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This is our new favorite! Hubby, kids and even mom-in-law went crazy over it... not to mention HOW EASY IT IS TO PUT TOGETHER! We enjoyed it not only at room temp - but the next day was scrumptous! Can't say enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States