Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is one of my all time favorites! I DO add strips of bell pepper and slices of cucumber. Sometimes I give it a south-of-the-border twist and add a dash of chili powder and a splash of Tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My aunt gave me a recipe similar to this in 1959 but hers also had cucumber slices and bermuda onion rings. I make it with red wine vinegar and extra virgin olive oil along with the sugar. Once you start eating this it's hard to stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I thought this was great! Like other reviewers, I halved the dressing ingredients and found it to be more than enough liquid. I used apple cider vinegar because that is what I had on hand, and also used olive oil. The only changes I made: added 1 minced garlic clove, two strips of crisp bacon, and a shake (or two) of basil. Yum! I made it yesterday, and it is even better today. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Easy and so tasty. The onions and vinegar perfectly complement the sweet tomatoes. Did not need salt or pepper. Thanks for the recipe, christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was delicious! Next time I will add cucumbers. The dressing was so good, I saved it in a bottle for salad dressing...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very tasty and refreshing. I used my very own home grown tomatoes along with purple onion (I didn't have a yellow onion). I chose to use olive oil rather than vegetable oil because other reviewers chose to. I will be serving this again, but next time I will try adding some olives! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was a wonderful salad. You gotta like tomatoes of course but if you do, this is the best. The dressing is delightful - get some fresh Italian bread and dip the bread in the dressing ... yum! It was a bit heavy on the onions but either I got onion that weren't sweet enough or I used too many. I would definitely make it again. I think it would make a great dish-to-pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very good Very easy. I cut down on the vinger a little as we don't like things to tart and I used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very quick/easy & delicious. Although I added black olives, & feta cheese right before serving. Definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made this with three tomatoes fresh off the vine. That's all we had ripe, so I halved all of the ingredients. It's hard to believe a recipe so simple could be so delicious, but it's absolutely worth every star! Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States