Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was fabulous! Next time I will leave out the onion (personal preference, I only like it cooked) and reduce the amount of oil. I used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
My husband and I were thought this was delicious, although my 4-year old was a little hestitant. For her we put it on top of pizza and then she ate it. I used a little less sugar, and the only thinig I'd change for next time would be to dice up the onion as getting an entire onion slice in your mouth is a little too powerful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
the sugar is what I have always been missing in those other tomato salads. the salt & pepper paired soo yummy. I added dry basil and cubes of mozzarella cheese. Yumm! Thank you verry much for posting Chrissy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Mmmmmmmmm! Quick, easy, and really tasty salad! Added cucumbers and used olive oil and a little more than half the sugar called for. Will make again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I've now made this five times. I stuck to the original recipe the first time but every time thereafter I added some chunks of creamy blue cheese and some sliced black olives. It's good as written but something special with the additions. Now a family favorite, this salad will be made weekly all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent! I use Splenda instead of sugar and it tastes great. We usually have this at least once a week. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The tomatoes of summer are best used for this recipe. After making this numerous times, I have finally tweeked it just the way I like it. Yellow onions tend to be very strong, so I recommend using a sweet onion instead. Split the vinegar into 1/4 cup balsamic and 1/4 cup white distilled and cut the oil to 1/4 cup. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
this was OK but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very good summer pick me up. For me it had to much dressing so I just added more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This tomatoe is salad is wonderful. I made a large batch and it stayed good in the fridge for a week or more. I used the tomatoes and onions in pita wrap sandwiches and they imparted an incredable flavor. I found myself going back to the bowl for "just a couple more" repeatedly! Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States