Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm so glad I am rating this the day AFTER i made them. they really taste BETTER when the flavors sit overnight! I made it 100% as written, it was PERFECT! i enjoy the simple dressing, very nice flavor. Others complain it is too much dressing, just make the dressing seperate and use as much or as little as you need! I decided to add some cuke today, make sure you weep them before you add, or it will have too much water. Also tried with some herbed goat cheese, VERY VERY delish! The only reason i gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because it didnt' taste that good last night, it was like soup tho - next day is WAY better. i will make this again for sure when summer tomatos are in abundance. thank you for the recipe chrissy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My family really liked this recipe. I changed two things: I decreased both sugar and oil by a third. Next time I will add green peppers and cucumbers if I have them. I don't think it will change the taste and it will provide a way to use up some of those excess veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
YUMMER! I used apple cider vinegar and olive oil. It was Bangin' out of control!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I love to make this salad in the summer with fresh tomatoes, but I do not use sugar or oil due to family health issues. Country Tomatoes is what I learned the recipe to be and the tomatoes and onions were used in addition to green bell peppers cut into slices. The mix was made with equal portions of Apple Cider Vinegar, Sugar (or Splenda in my case), salt, pepper, and fresh basil and oregano to taste. It is such a light and refreshing addition to a seafood, beef or grilled chicken meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Loved it something a bit different. I heated the liquids just a bit to break down the sugar, I also used a sweeter onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great with a bit of chopped fresh basil and shredded mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
So good! I couldn't stop snacking on it. I had almost ate 1/2 of it before the rest of dinner was done. I had done as others did, used olive oil. I also put a splash of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Sweeney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I'm rating this 4 stars even though mine was not. I did something I hardly ever do: I didn't follow it to the letter the first time I made it. Instead of using vegetable oil, I thought olive oil would be better. NOPE! My oil is highly-flavored and it overcame the taste of the tomatoes. I WILL make this again and I won't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I make this every summer when I have tomatoes in my garden. I don't use oil though, personal preference. I also add sliced cukes and either fresh basil or cilantro from my garden for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklove69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was fabulous! Next time I will leave out the onion (personal preference, I only like it cooked) and reduce the amount of oil. I used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States