Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
this turned out to be the first dish i take to a potluck and come back home with absolutely nothing. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Excellent. I also reduced the sugar, and used half balsamic/half white vinegar and it was great. To make it a meal, I added cukes, cubed firm tofu, and bite-sized pieces of torn multigrain bread, and drained the extra dressing for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I made this for all my friends, and they loved it. I tried using apple cider vinegar and it taste even better. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Added cukes as mentioned.Very easy to make and great flavor.I made up the dressing with the cukes and onion before hand and added the tomatoes right before serving.Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
A little (lot) too sweet for me so I had to increase the vinegar to compensate. I used red onion and olive oil. Next time I will decrease the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Yum! I love summertime when the tomatoes are perfect for this refreshing salad. It does make a lot of dressing, so be careful. I added cucumbers (like over reviewers) and did half balsamic vinegar/half white vinegar. This is fantastic! Thank you, I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I thought this salad was great and so easy to make! I agree with the others that it makes way too much dressing. I had to dump some out. I also added cucumbers and used 1/2 balsamic vinegar and 1/2 white vinegar. My other suggestion is that you mix the dressing in right before serving it. I made the mistake of making it a few hours before serving it and it wasn't nearly as good as it was right after I made it. I will be making this again though for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I used balsamic vinegar and added diced red pepper, cubed sharp cheddar & minced fresh oregano and served on a bed of lettuce. DH loved it because of the balsamic vinegar and I thought it was pretty good, but a little "sharp". Next time I will add a bit less vinegar and also add some cucumber and more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This salad is so easy and wonderful! I cut the sugar back a little and sometimes substitute red onions and add cucumbers. Great side dish for BBQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This salad is so wonderful! I have received so many compliments and been asked for the recipe by just about everybody who has had it. I do add a few things to add a little bit of color. In addition to the tomatoes, I use one green, yellow, red, and orange bell pepper. I have also added cucumbers as well. To cut back on sugar, I use either Splenda or Equal (I think usually around 10 packets or so, depending on your taste). Warning: this salad is addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States