Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I must be the odd (Wo)man out with all the great rating because This was WAY TOO SWEET. Now I'm trying to figure out what I may have done wrong?? I even cut the sugar back to 1/4 cup and used 1/4c white and 1/4c balsamic vinegar as others suggested. I know that the better the balsamic the sweeter, so that could have been one of the culprits, as mine is pretty sweet, the other is that the tomatoes I used were salsa tomatoes, which are very meaty and have NO Juice at all, so the salad never got a chance to dilute, (I don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing??) not even by the next day! So I will have to try it again with plain ol juicy tomatoes and plain ol vinegar! Actually, to make a quick and similar version of this I just usually use zesty Italian dressing and mix in sugar to taste. Sorry about the 3 stars, the rating wasn't really fair and I wanted to remove it but found I couldn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
this turned out to be the first dish i take to a potluck and come back home with absolutely nothing. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Excellent. I also reduced the sugar, and used half balsamic/half white vinegar and it was great. To make it a meal, I added cukes, cubed firm tofu, and bite-sized pieces of torn multigrain bread, and drained the extra dressing for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I made this for all my friends, and they loved it. I tried using apple cider vinegar and it taste even better. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Added cukes as mentioned.Very easy to make and great flavor.I made up the dressing with the cukes and onion before hand and added the tomatoes right before serving.Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
A little (lot) too sweet for me so I had to increase the vinegar to compensate. I used red onion and olive oil. Next time I will decrease the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Yum! I love summertime when the tomatoes are perfect for this refreshing salad. It does make a lot of dressing, so be careful. I added cucumbers (like over reviewers) and did half balsamic vinegar/half white vinegar. This is fantastic! Thank you, I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I thought this salad was great and so easy to make! I agree with the others that it makes way too much dressing. I had to dump some out. I also added cucumbers and used 1/2 balsamic vinegar and 1/2 white vinegar. My other suggestion is that you mix the dressing in right before serving it. I made the mistake of making it a few hours before serving it and it wasn't nearly as good as it was right after I made it. I will be making this again though for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I used balsamic vinegar and added diced red pepper, cubed sharp cheddar & minced fresh oregano and served on a bed of lettuce. DH loved it because of the balsamic vinegar and I thought it was pretty good, but a little "sharp". Next time I will add a bit less vinegar and also add some cucumber and more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This salad is so easy and wonderful! I cut the sugar back a little and sometimes substitute red onions and add cucumbers. Great side dish for BBQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States