Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was good, but I added too much sugar, next time I will stick to the recipe and also add a splash of apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This salad was GREAT! That is, once I made some modifications. One is (from the advice from one of the reviewers), I used a purple onion instead of yellow. I also added thin cucumber slices and red and green bell pepppers and used olive oil instead of veggie oil. I found the juice to be flat - I wanted more dimension than just sour and flat - so I tossed in some Mrs. Dash table blend and a dash of galic salt and then microwaved the mixture so that the sugar would melt and the tastes would blend. From the spoon it tasted like oil, but dip a cucumber slice and... WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!! James Courtney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is a great summer salad. I also reduced the sugar to 1/4c.(I used wine vinegar and olive oil for the dressing) and added some sliced cucumbers to it. Really yummy! Next time I'm going to add feta or blue cheese. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Great! Used 1/2 balsamic vinegar and 1/2 white. Red onions,and thinly sliced cukes. Thinly sliced red pepper just added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Nice way to use tomatoes from garden, I also added a couple cucumbers to the mix and used half white vinegar and half red wine. The vegetables aren't overpowered with alot of seasonings. I will make again and play around with different vinegars. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I really like this recipe and have made it several times. It's a great bbq sidedish. As for reviewers' complaints about the sweetness - yes, it's sweet, so what? It's not like the title and the ingredients didn't give you a huge heads up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
i added cucumbers as suggested. very nice indeed! nxt time i will use balsamic and maybe add some feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I took this to a BBQ and there was still half of it left at the end of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I must be the odd (Wo)man out with all the great rating because This was WAY TOO SWEET. Now I'm trying to figure out what I may have done wrong?? I even cut the sugar back to 1/4 cup and used 1/4c white and 1/4c balsamic vinegar as others suggested. I know that the better the balsamic the sweeter, so that could have been one of the culprits, as mine is pretty sweet, the other is that the tomatoes I used were salsa tomatoes, which are very meaty and have NO Juice at all, so the salad never got a chance to dilute, (I don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing??) not even by the next day! So I will have to try it again with plain ol juicy tomatoes and plain ol vinegar! Actually, to make a quick and similar version of this I just usually use zesty Italian dressing and mix in sugar to taste. Sorry about the 3 stars, the rating wasn't really fair and I wanted to remove it but found I couldn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States