Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Wonderful flavors! Try adding carrots, fresh corn (cut right off cob), and broccoli florets with the tomatoes. Not only is it beautiful but all the vegetables are enhanced by the dressing! I'm serving this with sundried tomato/artichoke pasta and crusty garlic bread tonight! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Every one loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I thought this was awesome! My pickies who hate onion and tomato wouldn't even try it(they don't know what they were missing) I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
WOW!! It was fantastic I ate it for 5 days in a row I couldn't get enough. I used apple cider and balsamic vinegar and put in cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is a very easy salad, however, I made some substitutions. Rather than vegetable oil, I went with olive oil, and rather than the white vinegar, I went with balsamic vinegar. In order to brighten the salad up, I used a variety of tomatoes....regular reds, and also yellow and green. I also chopped up some cucumbers and added small squares of cheddar cheese. It was a big hit at every summer party I attended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
this was yum! i like mine spicy though, so I included two chopped up birdseye chilies and a clove of minced garlic. for the vinegar i combined balsamic and cane. the addition of cucumbers was good too! i also made a variation using a splash of sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds. this is a good recipe to play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the_nayna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very tasty, it got better after a couple of days when the sweetness was less noticable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
nice and easy..my husband loved it the first time i made it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is another way to use up those extra tomatoes from the garden! We really liked this, but I want to experiment with the dressing next time,only needed about half the amount and I might add a little water so there will not be so much oil. My mother used to fix cucumbers and onions with a dressing similar to this, so I am sure that the extra addition of cucumbers would be pretty good. I like it just like this with the onions and tomatoes... Oh yeah, next I will peel the tomatoes!! Update, I used a bottle tomato vinnagrette, cause I wanted to try something different , It was terrific! Also I peeled the tomatoes , just put them it hot, hot water for 3 or 4 sec. and they peel easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
We liked this a lot. I prepared it as written, except with campari tomatoes and half the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States